Need help with setting up Compro DVB-T300

Discussion in 'General Support' started by snr_duck, April 14, 2006.

  1. snr_duck

    snr_duck Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Area: Media Portal Program
    MediaPortal Version: 0.2.0.0 RC3 (2006-03-18)
    MediaPortal Skin: Razor
    Windows Version: Windows XP (SP2)
    .NET CLR Version: 2.0.50727
    DirectX Version: 4.09.00.0904 (9.0c)
    Audio Codec: MPEG/AC3/DTS/LPCM Audio Decoder
    Video Codec: ATI MPEG Video Decoder
    CPU Type: AMD Sempron 2200+
    Memory: 1 GB
    Motherboard: GA-7VT600 1394 (Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.)
    TV Card Model: Compro DVB-T300
    TV Card Type: DVB
    TV Card Driver: 1.3.1.23
    Video Card Model: Radeon 9550 (128 MB)
    Video Card Driver: 8.203.0.0
    Video Card Resolution: 1280x1024
    Video Render Type: Overlay
    Audio Card Model: Realtek AC'97 Audio for VIA (R) Audio Controller
    Audio Card Driver: 5.10.0.5940
    Synopsis::

    I get a message that timeshifting is not working and I also get no audio or video when trying to watch TV.

    Movies seem to be fine.

    I also seem to get digital radio OK.

    Tried many different codecs, tried re-scanning channels etc but nothing seems to work.

    I found the following in the MediaPortal.log :
    14/04/2006 9:34:53 PM DVBGraph:FAILED to set timeshift folder to:G:\PVR\card1 8000FFFF
    14/04/2006 9:34:53 PM DVBGraph:Unable to create sinksource()

    but I cannot find anything that explains what those errors are and what a fix might be.



    The G:\PVR\card1 directory exists but there is nothing in it.

    Any suggestions for at least getting TV to work ?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. scoop
    • Premium Supporter

    scoop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    November 14, 2004
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Hi,
    What type of drive is G: ? Did you try setting a totally different directory as recordings folder for your tv card? Try doing so via Setup -> Television -> Capture cards -> select your tvcard and choose Edit. There you can set a different folder for timeshifting/recording. You can also try to just delete the "card1" folder. Starting TV should automatically recreate that folder.

    Kind regards,
    Michel
     
  4. snr_duck

    snr_duck Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Still no joy

    Hi scoop,

    G drive is a 75GB ATA 100 disk formatted as NTFS.

    I renamed the PVR folder and created a new one. The original PVR folder had some stuff in it from the original ComproDTV software.

    I restarted MP and I still get the same error about Timeshifting.

    Looking thru the logs I also see this:

    15/04/2006 9:17:54 AM Using card#0
    15/04/2006 9:17:54 AM filter networkprovider='Microsoft DVBT Network Provider' check:False
    15/04/2006 9:17:54 AM filter tunerdevice='VideoMate BDA DVBT Tuner' check:True
    15/04/2006 9:17:54 AM filter capture='VideoMate BDA Digital Capture' check:True

    Which I am not sure if it means that I am not getting all the components working together or not.

    I don't necessarily need timeshifting to work right now... I am more worried about getting the TV part working to display video and audio and then worry about timeshifting.

    I tried using GraphEdit and some sections came up Purple and some came up Orange but having never used GraphEdit I am unsure what that means.... and their Help file sure didn't want to tell me either :(.

    Here is some more from the logs when I tried starting up and changing channels etc:

    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM Recorder:confused:tartTimeshift tv ABC TV Melbourne
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM Recorder: find free card
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM Command:confused:top tv card:0
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM Recorder: found free card 1 prio:10 name:Compro VideoMate DVB-T300/T200
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM Recorder: start timeshifting card Compro VideoMate DVB-T300/T200 channel:ABC TV Melbourne
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM TVCapture.StartTimeShifting() Card:1 :ABC TV Melbourne
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM 6 vmr9:Dispose
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM DVBGraph:confused:tartTimeShifting() ABC TV Melbourne
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM DVBGraph: tuning details: frequency:226625 kHz ONID:4112 TSID:561 SID:561 provider:unknown
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM DVBGraph: channel ABC TV Melbourne uses AC3
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM DVBGraph:(). StartTimeShifting: ac3=True
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM DVBGraph:FAILED to set timeshift folder to:G:\PVR\card1 8000FFFF
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM DVBGraph:Unable to create sinksource()
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM Command:MediaPortal.TV.Recording.TimeShiftTvCommand failed reason:Failed to start timeshifting time:60.0816 msec
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM Recorder: Card:Compro VideoMate DVB-T300/T200 idle
    15/04/2006 9:18:01 AM window:MediaPortal.Dialogs.GUIDialogOK init
    15/04/2006 9:18:12 AM window:MediaPortal.Dialogs.GUIDialogMenu init
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM GUITVHome.ViewChannel(): View channel=Nine Digital ts:True
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM add cmd:MediaPortal.TV.Recording.TimeShiftTvCommand #1
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM Recorder:confused:tartTimeshift tv Nine Digital
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM Recorder: find free card
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM Command:confused:top tv card:0
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM Recorder: tv channel changed:Nine Digital
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM teletext: clear teletext cache
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM Recorder: found free card 1 prio:10 name:Compro VideoMate DVB-T300/T200
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM Recorder: start timeshifting card Compro VideoMate DVB-T300/T200 channel:Nine Digital
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM TVCapture.StartTimeShifting() Card:1 :Nine Digital
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM DVBGraph:confused:tartTimeShifting() Nine Digital
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM DVBGraph: tuning details: frequency:191625 kHz ONID:12829 TSID:1072 SID:1072 provider:unknown
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM DVBGraph: channel Nine Digital uses AC3
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM DVBGraph:(). StartTimeShifting: ac3=True
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM DVBGraph:FAILED cannot add StreamBufferSink:4022D
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM DVBGraph:Unable to create sinksource()
    15/04/2006 9:18:14 AM Command:MediaPortal.TV.Recording.TimeShiftTvCommand failed reason:Failed to start timeshifting time:50.068 msec

    From what I see there is still an issue with Timeshifting but everything else looks like it should be working ?
     
  5. thechad

    thechad Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 5, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Network Administrator
    Location:
    Geelong, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Yeah everything in the logs looks fine for tuning etc, but will obviously not work becasue time shifting is enabled and MP is unable to create the timeshift buffer.

    I would try putting the recording folder back on the C drive and see if this helps. Check permissions on the recording folder as well but i think they would be ok as you are able to create the folder yourself. I do recall someone else having this issue a while back. You may be able to find this thread.
     
  6. snr_duck

    snr_duck Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Still no dice :(

    Tried on 3 different physical drives now and still the same result :(


    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM Recorder:confused:tartTimeshift tv ABC TV Melbourne
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM Recorder: find free card
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM Command:confused:top tv card:0
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM Recorder: found free card 1 prio:10 name:Compro VideoMate DVB-T300/T200
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM Recorder: start timeshifting card Compro VideoMate DVB-T300/T200 channel:ABC TV Melbourne
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM TVCapture.StartTimeShifting() Card:1 :ABC TV Melbourne
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM 6 vmr9:Dispose
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM DVBGraph:confused:tartTimeShifting() ABC TV Melbourne
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM DVBGraph: tuning details: frequency:226625 kHz ONID:4112 TSID:561 SID:561 provider:ABC
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM DVBGraph: channel ABC TV Melbourne uses AC3
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM DVBGraph:(). StartTimeShifting: ac3=True
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM DVBGraph:FAILED to set timeshift folder to:C:\temp\card1 8000FFFF
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM DVBGraph:Unable to create sinksource()
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM Command:MediaPortal.TV.Recording.TimeShiftTvCommand failed reason:Failed to start timeshifting time:60.0858 msec
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM Recorder: Card:Compro VideoMate DVB-T300/T200 idle
    15/04/2006 1:01:58 PM window:MediaPortal.Dialogs.GUIDialogOK init
    15/04/2006 1:02:02 PM Mediaportal.OnExit()


    Is there a way to disable timeshifting in the config ?

    Maybe try it without timeshifting and see if I get a pic ?
     
  7. Taipan
    • Premium Supporter

    Taipan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Are you running MediaPortal with administrator user privileges?

    Also, I notice that the frequency that you have for ABC TV Melbourne is incorrect - it should be 226,500, not 226,625. This can cause problems with changing channels and viewing this channel.
     
  8. snr_duck

    snr_duck Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    This machine is in my domain.

    I am logged in as a Domain Admin.

    I did an autoscan for the channels during the setup of the card. It looks like it found all the local channels though..... Is there a way to change the frequencies manually ?
     
  9. Taipan
    • Premium Supporter

    Taipan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Yes, you can edit all the channel information in Configuration > Television > TV Channels - highlight the channel and then click on "Edit", then select the DVB-T tab and change the frequencies. For Melbourne, only channels 9 and SBS are on xxx,625 - all the other channels are on xxx,500. You will probably find that all your channels are shown as xxx,625 - this is a known bug in MediaPortal which has been partially fixed in recent SVNs.


    Yes, edit your MediaPortal.xml file and look for this line in the "My TV" section:-

    Code (Text):
    1. <entry name="timeshifting">yes</entry>
    and change the "yes" to "no"....

    Let us know how you go.... :)
     
  10. snr_duck

    snr_duck Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Partial Success

    Sorry for the delay in replying to this. I suffered a catastrophic failure in one of my hard disks and I am only now coming out of mourning for my lost data :cry:

    OK... So I have some TV channels working now.... but they are stuttery, especially when I change between windows or start another application up.

    Someone at work was telling me that they have multiple tuners in their machine and they offload the work of the card when it comes to MPEG2 decoding onto their Radeon hardware to do the grunt work and free up some CPU cycles for other stuff.

    I have yet to find a definitive guide to doing this on any HTPC application.

    I am also having issues with getting my compro remote to work with MediaPortal. I have installed HIP and Compro2HIP and set the remote in MP to use the MCE remote (US Version).

    I can use the big blue cursor pad on the remote to move around in MP ... but most other things do not work at all.

    I have gone into HIP and had it "learn" my commands from the remote but they do not seem to apply properly in MP. Any tips on this ?

    I am also still unable to get Timeshifting working. If I turn it on the MP screen in MyTV goes black and I get the error about Timeshifting failing to start. Not sure where else to go with this one.

    I am realllly keen to get this working and I seem to have the WAF (Wife Acceptance Factor) at the moment as well which will diminish proportional to the amount of time I spend "tinkering" with this.

    Any help to maintain my current level of WAF would be awesome !!


    Duck
     
  11. snr_duck

    snr_duck Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 14, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Some stuff fixed by RC4

    I can now do timeshifting since upgrading to RC4.

    Forget anything about using the radeon to do any work... what they were telling me is BS/wrong so nevermind.

    I am still working on my remote tho.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!