New TVE3 plugin: AVM FritzBox / WLAN Repeater DVB-C channel scan helper

Discussion in 'TV-Server Plugins' started by morpheus_xx, March 27, 2017.

  1. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,322
    Likes Received:
    4,529
    Ratings:
    +6,476 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AVM FritzBox / WLAN Repeater DVB-C channel scan helper



    This is a new plugin for the current "TV Engine 3", which is the version of both main products MP 1.16 and MP 2.1.

    What is it about?

    The Problem:

    • The AVM FritzBox Router 6490 and the WLAN Repeater DVB-C provide a nice feature: they have inbuilt DVB-C tuners (2 / 4) that allow streaming of TV and radio channels. The AVM web configuration allows to scan channels and provide channel lists (.m3u) for HD, SD and Radio channels.
    • By default, those playlists are not completely supported by TVE3. Some additonal comments and the kind of pid filtering in the URL prevent a successful channel scan.
    • TVE3 also does not yet support the "Sat>IP" standard. And also AVM does not fully support it yet (at least on the WLAN Repeater).
    The Solution:
    • The plugin detects available FritzBox/Repeater devices in your local network using UPnP/SSDP
    • The available .m3u channel lists will be downloaded from detected devices, then processed for proper scanning
    • It does a channel scan using DVB-IP cards
    • It automatically assigns found channels to all available DVB-IP cards (until the supported number of tuners by the AVM device)
    Known Issues:
    • Concurrent tuning of 2 channels from one single device is not working. This is a limitation of the AVM devices for which I could not yet find a workaround (concurrent streaming to multiple devices works, though)
    How it looks like:
    01_AVM_TunerPlugin.png

    Requirements:
    1. You need an AVM FritzBox device with DVB-C streaming support (FritzBox 6490, Fritz WLAN Repeater DVB-C)
    2. You have to do a channel scan inside the AVM web interface first
    Installation:
    1. Extract the attached .zip archive to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Server\Plugins\SlimTv.Service3\Plugins" (MP2 folder)
    2. Run "MediaPortal 2 TV Configuration"
    3. Enter "Plugins" -> Enable "AVM Tuner Helper" plugin
    Available options:
    • "Auto map to available tuners": The found channels will be automatically mapped to the number of available tuners of the AVM device. If you did not increase the number of DVB-IP cards yet, enter the TV cards configuration and set the number of DVB-IP tuners.
    • "Auto combine channels": If you have already another DVB-C card and channels available, you can add the new DVB-IP details to the existing channel. This saves the manual combination of channels. (new since v 0.2)
      v02_AutoCombine.PNG
    • "TV Channels SD / HD / Radio": The AVM devices are grouping the available channels into those categories. By enabling/disabling the checkboxes you can define which kind of channels you want to import. Note: the AVM devices only support FTA (Free-To-Air, non-scramled) channels.

    Please try it out and post feedback! @Developers @Testers @Designers @DocumentationGroup

    Release history:
    • 2017-04-20 [v 0.3]:
      • Updated plugin for MP1.16 and MP2.1 final releases (not MP2.1 pre2!)
    • 2017-03-28 [v 0.2]:
      • Fixed radio channels in TV groups
      • New feature to auto-combine channels with existing DVB-C ones
    • 2017-03-27 [v 0.1]: Initial release
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: April 20, 2017
    • Like Like x 8
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,608
    Likes Received:
    4,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +6,709 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Nice one ;)
     
  4. Helios61
    • Team MediaPortal

    Helios61 Test Group

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi @morpheus_xx ,
    Big thanks for this great improvement. Have made first, quick tests. The plugin is working great. Zapping times seems to be a little bit longer, than with TT DVB/c card, but it is just a first impression. One small glitch i've noticed. In TV-Guide TV- and Radio channels are listed ->
    2017-03-28.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,322
    Likes Received:
    4,529
    Ratings:
    +6,476 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for reporting! I checked the code, I have copied an existing bug from DVB-IP scan section :D
    I will fix both, plugin and TVE3 code.

    What device do you have? A FritzBox or WLAN Repeater? How much tuners are available?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Helios61
    • Team MediaPortal

    Helios61 Test Group

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    (y):)
    Fritz!Box 6490 cable.
    1 tuner. Is it possible to add a second one?
     
  7. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,322
    Likes Received:
    4,529
    Ratings:
    +6,476 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    My Repeater has 2 tuners, this information is detected from the UPnP service:
    upload_2017-3-28_15-44-18.png

    Then you can configure so many IPTV cards as the tuner number shows:
    upload_2017-3-28_15-45-39.png

    But at the moment you most probably won't be able to use them concurrently because of:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Helios61
    • Team MediaPortal

    Helios61 Test Group

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    :whistle: Did not notice the tuner info. I've also 2 tuner in my fritz!box.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  9. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,322
    Likes Received:
    4,529
    Ratings:
    +6,476 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    An update was added to first post. Please check changelog for details. Bug with radio channel groups is fixed and a new feature for auto-combining channels was added :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. Helios61
    • Team MediaPortal

    Helios61 Test Group

    Joined:
    January 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NRW
    Ratings:
    +897 / 4
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi @morpheus_xx , all seems to work now fine and as exspected. Ther is one point i've noticed: TV/Plugin Configuration shows 2 tuners, however Fritz!Box GUI shows me 4 tuners ->

    2017-03-29.jpg

    BTW, i think this topic should be moved to TV-Server Plugins.
     
    Last edited: March 29, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  11. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,322
    Likes Received:
    4,529
    Ratings:
    +6,476 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Strange, I call the UPnP service that returns the number of services. So I think this is a question I will ask the AVM support as next ;)

    Edit: Thread was also moved to TvServer plugins subforum, a reference is kept inside MP2 plugins.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!