Newbie needs help (1 Viewer)

Beitie

July 20, 2015
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Okay, so I've been using Windows Media Center for the last 3 years and I loved it. It automatically downloaded my guide info, auto woke up and put to sleep my PC when recording, everything about it was perfect. Now it seems that the guide is no longer supported and I NEED a new product to replace Windows Media Center. This looks like a fair replacement, but I gotta be honest here, I'm not happy so far. I've been fussing with this for about 3 hours now. It's obvious that the set up guides provided are not even close to sufficient.

1) I'm using this PC on a Home Theater set up. 50" LG HDTV, Pioneer Elite VSX-50 receiver, running 5.1 surround sound.

2) I finally figured out how to get the card to scan for channels, and the previews work.

3) No idea how to get guide info, and I want it downloaded off the internet, not just scan every 2 hours.

4) Media Portal itself will NOT play my TV channels. Every time I try to tune one in, I get some goofy error and nothing shows up. What's the deal here?

My Windows Media Center was sooooo ideal, and I'm really pissed that I'm being forced to switch. I only have till tomorrow to figure this crap out too. Ugh my life!

Beitie

July 20, 2015
Home Country
Anyone? All I want this to do is record live TV, download a guide about once a day, and record my TV shows as scheduled. This should be easy, right?

breese

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • July 11, 2011
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Home Country
    Log files from the server and client would go a long way to helping
    Also, did you follow the requirments needed for MP2?
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/2_..._Installing_MediaPortal_2#System_Requirements

EDIT:
    What are you using to get the schedules once the channels are all imported
    To use Schedules Direct you can go here, download the zip file and following the instructions.