Newbie troubles - no live TV playback and missing tvguide.xml file (1 Viewer)

Jules Cantwell

Portal Member
October 23, 2014
Home Country
Ireland Ireland
I'm a long-time Windows Media Center user but had to give up on it as my BlackGold BGT3600 card has an obscure issue with dropping channels in WMC periodically and this issue will not be resolved.

So I'm a total newbie to Media Portal but love what I've seen so far, both in terms of the system offering, its extensibility and the active community. I had a go last night at setting it up and thought I had followed the wiki guides correctly but can't get TV to work even in the Server Settings Preview function. In MP I just get 'Uknown Error Occurred' when I try to launch any channel.

I'm in Dublin and using DVB-S2 card for UK freesat and DVB-T tuner for Irish digital terrestial - the channel scan works fine and picks up all the expected channels, I just can't get playback.

I think I messed up the EPG setup, had thought I'd followed instructions but think I may have installed the wrong xmltv component, though I had thought I had followed the wiki properly (must have missed something!), and amn't sure if this could explain TV not playing? It does seem I don't have a tvguide.xml file in the XMLTV folder and from the logs (attached) seems that's at least one issue.

I'm using 1.9.0 - if it would be best to do a clean reinstall and start again, please just let me know, would appreciate a link to make sure I'm following the right end-to-end guide to avoid mistakes.

I also saw mention of the DJBlu EPG plugin, would that help here (not sure how I'd get EPG for the Irish digital terrestial channels though).

Thanks!

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome Jules! :)

I'll get straight to the point.
    It looks like TV Server is not able to start up successfully. The key error I'm seeing in your logs is this: