newcomer set up problems (1 Viewer)

AlanJ14

July 23, 2015
Home Country
England England
Hello
I am completely new to MP and completely at a loss as to what to do next!
In the installation process I got the message " invalid file handle 32" so I clicked OK and then I was told that I had successfully installed MP.
When I opened MP I tried configuration and got the message "unable to connect to TV server on host 'ALAN PC'
My SQL Server 5.6 is installed.
I am running a TBS 6280 Dual DVB-T/T2 tuner card with the latest driver.

CyberSimian

Test Group
  • Team MediaPortal
  • June 10, 2013
    Southampton
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    In the installation process I got the message " invalid file handle 32" so I clicked OK and then I was told that I had successfully installed MP. When I opened MP I tried configuration and got the message "unable to connect to TV server on host 'ALAN PC'. My SQL Server 5.6 is installed. I am running a TBS 6280 Dual DVB-T/T2 tuner card with the latest driver.
    This post is potentially a case of the blind leading the blind, and if you follow the advice below, your system may end up in a worse mess than it is now. However, some points:

(0) If you have not already done so, create a system image of your operating-system drive, so that you can restore it if things go wrong.

(1) Did you install MP1 or MP2? The developers working on MP2 are rightly proud of their efforts, but there are many other MP experts who would recommend that you install MP1 in the first instance, as it is a more mature and more stable product. MP 1.12 is the current stable version of MP1. Whichever version you have installed, uninstall it and reboot.

(2) MP uses other tools/products that are outside its control. Consequently, things do not always work as smoothly as one would like. A specific example of this is the SQL system used by MP.