1. TV Card Driver: 9.2
MPEG2 Video Codec: ffdshow
MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
h.264 Video Codec: ffdshow
Remote: ATi Theater
TV: Acer
TV - HTPC Connection: DVI

I'm a newbie so please bear with me.

My Media Portal does not display a picture, however I do get audio. If I pause live tv, the I can see the channel (paused of course). Also if I play back a video file (mpg in this case) through Media Portal, I do not get a picture just audio. If I play the same file through Windows Media Player, it plays fine.

Also, I am able to "watch" the channel and get video if I use the preview option in the TV server configuration, TV channels tab. Picture is just awesome in the preview mode.

This is very puzzling to me.

Media Portal doesn't seem to be loading my video codec (ffdshow). I have the latest version of ffdshow. When I watch a video in Windows Media Player, I get an icon in the system tray for both video and audio. When I run Media Portal, I only get an audio icon.

These two errors are in my error.log file:

2009-03-20 20:31:24.562500 [ERROR][MPMain]: failed:unable to add filter:ffdshow Video Decoder to graph
2009-03-20 20:31:24.562500 [ERROR][MPMain]: failed filter:ffdshow Video Decoder not found

View attachment 37363

rekenaar

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 17, 2006
    Home Country
    South Africa South Africa
    Hi there and welcome :)

Did you try other mpeg2 decoders? I recall reading that ffdshow is not good with mpeg2.

EL_Mojo

Portal Member
    March 21, 2009
    Home Country
    United States of America United States of America
    Rekenarr,

Yes I've tried the following decoders:
    ATI CC Multiplexer
    ATI MPEG Mulitplexer
    ATI MPEG Video Decoder
    CyberLink MPEG Video Decoder
    CyberLink Video/SP Decoder
    MPV Decoder Filter