Nvidia geforce driver 417.01 break mp1

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Stéphane Lenclud, November 29, 2018.

  1. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,265 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Reverting back to 416.94 fixed it.
    Error log was empty. Log themselves just stopped at some point.
    What was most annoying was that MP1 would keep restarting and crash in a loop.
    Do we have a watcher of some sort that's restarting MP1 after it crashes? That does not seem right.


     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,274
    Likes Received:
    2,351
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +3,983 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  4. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,129
    Likes Received:
    4,895
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,257 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I have it installed and MP 1.21pre runs without problems.

    via tapatalk
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    652
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,265 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    That's odd. Which card you got?
    Mine is a GTX 1070.
    I'm also running the prerelease.
     
  6. grabi_2001

    grabi_2001 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Freiberufler
    Location:
    in den Alpen
    Ratings:
    +79 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I also have the problem, after installing the driver 417.01 and hotfix 417.21 starts MP 1.21 Pre constantly new in a loop.
    Have even a Nvidia 1080th
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    GTX 1050i, 417.01 leaves MP in a bootloop while starting, showing a GPU_HUNG in the logs. Reverting back to 416.94 solves this, and makes MP usable again, but i'm not sure if there are more issues.
    My ambilight is broken on a D3DERR_INVALIDCALL, but not sure if this is from the Nvidia drivers or from the Windows update. I'll try to revert that update today for testing purposes.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,626
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,736 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    OK, did some testing.

    Windows including latest update (KB4467682) and latest Nvidia driver (417.01) results in bootloop on startup of MP (GPU_HUNG) and broken ambilight (D3DERR_INVALIDCALL)

    Rolled back Nvidia driver to 416.94:
    - MP startup bootloop fixed, ambilight still broken

    Rolled back MS KB4467682:
    - So far everything works again, no bootloop and no D3D errors on ambilight. more testing to do
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  9. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    514
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +928 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Have you set the option marked in red:

    auto_restart.jpg

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,213
    Likes Received:
    6,177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,164 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    It's possible that in code a restart it done even if this option is not checked (from memory) but its an error. So need to be investigated :)

    Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12,129
    Likes Received:
    4,895
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Lanzarote
    Ratings:
    +7,257 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!