perfomance improvement by using MP as exclusive shell app

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by smnnekho, April 15, 2006.

?

Is this tip useful?

  1. HELL IT IS!

    100.0%
  2. NOT AT ALL!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. this isn't really suppose to work, is it?

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. awesome, now my HTCP isn't working anymore you *****

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. smnnekho
    • Premium Supporter

    smnnekho Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 6, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    well this one would be interesting for all the owners of a real HTCP, thus those where MP should be the only meaning of usement...
    ... and if MP is the only use? why not start up with ONLY mp?? (-;



    in windows the default shell_application is the explorer. you can change that in the registry so that MP is the shell-application. the result is, that when your pc is started up there will be no taskbar, no desktop (at least no icons or something else on it) and no additional programms starting up except MP. i testet it and it works fine for me. it also allows MP to have the exclusive rights to use the CPU ressources wich means a massive perfomance improvement (at least for me).
    if you need addtional software to be started there are several options for that, eg starting it as service, at it to the myprogramms plugin, or (not tested) set a batchfile as service which starts as well MP as also the additional software / services needed.

    Furthermore the taskmanager is still available (via CTRL-ALT-DEL in my case) where you'll still be able to execute everything via "run".
    It worked really good for me so far (can't use it though because i lack a HTCP since im only using my laptop as this)

    alright here we go:

    go to the registry (via start-->run-->regedit and change the values of "Shell=" in:

    and
    from "explorer.exe" to "Drive:/MPdirectory/mediaportal.exe"
    On the next reboot MP will appear like it would be a standalone OS (exspecially together with the MP_bootlogo)

    I really hope this one is useful for some of you, so post what you think.

    ps: if you want to revert the change simply open regedit again (taskmanager!) and change back the values to explorer.exe
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Callifo
    • Premium Supporter

    Callifo Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    17
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    This was suggested a while back and it did work OK but I do believe it caused some problems associated with explorer.exe not running. Cant remember what they are so if you do have any probs Id do a search.
     
  4. Efros

    Efros Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 23, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Inflictor of Physical Science on 18 year old Nerks
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Running MP on a athlon 2500 with 512Mb, 160 Gb, FX 5200, Diamond Xtreme PVR550, snapstream firefly, tinyxp installed with MP as shell, no insurmountable problems as yet. MP was setup before usnig it as shell. Any configuration changes necessitate the use of task manager to run configuration.exe, more complex changes would probly need to change the shell back to explorer and then return MP to shell.
     
  5. Leon_Gjerland

    Leon_Gjerland Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 1, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    If you need to start Explorer, just exit MP, launch Task manager (Ctrl-Shift-Esc) and start explorer.exe with New task from the file menu.
     
  6. smnnekho
    • Premium Supporter

    smnnekho Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 6, 2006
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    in fact you don't have to exit MP at all....
     
  7. j1nx

    j1nx Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 16, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    But why use MP as the shell, it isn't a shell?????

    There are enough light weight shells available to use if you want to get rid of the starderd XP explorer shell.
     
  8. Efros

    Efros Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 23, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Inflictor of Physical Science on 18 year old Nerks
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    The point is why add the overhead of a shell on a dedicated media box when you don't need it. When you do occasionally need the facilites of a shell you can use task manger to start an instance of explorer.
     
  9. zion22

    zion22 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 6, 2006
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Tried this, but when MediaPortal loaded, it whined about something with DirectX and that i should download and install some SDK.

    So it's a no-go from me, unless there's a simple solution for that. :)
     
  10. Efros

    Efros Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 23, 2006
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Inflictor of Physical Science on 18 year old Nerks
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    try dling directx 9.0c and see if that helps.
     
  11. zion22

    zion22 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 6, 2006
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!