1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Plugin] Browse The Web / Webbrowser

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by kroko, November 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany

    Hi there,

    yes I know there are other webbrowser plugins as well, but I found both of them have their advantages but I missed some features.
    Also I like to play with HTML and web content so I started to build my own webbrowser.


    Download Version 0.2.7 / 26th November 2010



    Download Version 0.3.0 /30th April for the 1.2 Beta
    https://mp-plugins.svn.sourceforge....lugins/BrowseTheWeb/Release/BrowseTheWeb.mpe1


    Download Version 0.3.2 for 1.2.0 or 1.2.1 - thank Guzzi for updating.
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...-web-webbrowser-89101/index21.html#post786541

    still do some work, so check frequently

    Anyhow I like the design of the GeckoBrowser browsing by IDs. Also I a fan of fullscreen action. And of course we need bookmarks...
    So because of missing features I started to play arround. Very interessting is the Skybound.Gecko engine. I just add the zoom function and ScrollTo funtion to the interface and this works great.

    So what is this plugin for ? Browse the web and have fun !
    some samples:





    Remote:
    To navigate to a link "12" press 1-2-# on your remote
    To select a URL press "Play" and enter the URL
    ("confirm link" can be adjusted in the setup)

    on the keyboard:

    To navigate to a link "12" press 1-2-U on your keyboard
    To select a URL press "P" and enter the URL
    ("confirm link" can be adjusted in the setup)

    Features:

    Set homepage / blank screen
    Edit/Save bookmarks in the setup
    Save bookmark inside the MP
    Zoom in/out
    Move the window in all direction
    Set font / zoom size in setup
    Rename the plugin
    Alternate OSD to show selected link ID
    Optional show staus bar on bottom
    thumbs for bookmarks
    ready for info service thanks goes to SilentException
    some experimental for the remote
    support to set a proxy
    mouse support
    remote configurable

    Keyboard / Remote layout:

    see screenshot setup4.jpg

    Thanks goes to the authors from the other plugins for many ideas. This is also using the xulrunner engine as Geckobrowser.
    The files we be installed automaticly using the installer file. I hope you like it :)

    Cheers
    kroko

    see also
    FirefoxIntegrator
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/mediaportal-plugins-47/webbrowser-firefoxintegrator-48903/
    Author : zunixnuz

    or

    GeckoBrowser
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/mediaportal-plugins-47/geckobrowser-v0-1-21-04-2010-new-70005/
    Author : edsche
     

    Attached Files:

    • setup1.jpg
      setup1.jpg
      File size:
      115 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 7, 2010
      Views:
      1,320
    • setup2.jpg
      setup2.jpg
      File size:
      100.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 7, 2010
      Views:
      1,131
    • setup3.jpg
      setup3.jpg
      File size:
      136.5 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 7, 2010
      Views:
      1,237
    • browser1.jpg
      browser1.jpg
      File size:
      128.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 7, 2010
      Views:
      1,298
    • browser2.jpg
      browser2.jpg
      File size:
      154.2 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 7, 2010
      Views:
      1,159
    • browserOSD.jpg
      browserOSD.jpg
      File size:
      124.5 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 7, 2010
      Views:
      1,316
    • bookmarks1.jpg
      bookmarks1.jpg
      File size:
      52.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 10, 2010
      Views:
      1,412
    • bookmarks2.jpg
      bookmarks2.jpg
      File size:
      55.9 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 10, 2010
      Views:
      1,310
    • setup4.jpg
      setup4.jpg
      File size:
      169 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 26, 2010
      Views:
      1,065
    • Like Like x 19
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. userjan
    • Premium Supporter

    userjan MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 14, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Location:
    USA, Greeneville, TN
    Ratings:
    +26 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    O yeah, gonna give this a try, all the other plugins came close but where just not 100% usable for me, a future i really missed in MP.

    Thx a lot, will let you know how it runs for me..

    edit:
    Pretty good so far, was able to login on the MP website with the plugin, virtual keyboard opens as expected, and ids opend as expected, till i tride to enter "https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/mediaportal-plugins-47/'' with in this case id 174.
    When i typed a number it didnt show up and the plugin didnt seem to do a thing, pressing "esc" it showed "1" in the litle id screen.

    I added the logs as attachment....

    :D
     
  4. Hawkeye

    Hawkeye Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 29, 2005
    Messages:
    523
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    digital media designer
    Location:
    Halle (Saale)
    Ratings:
    +84 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: [Plugin] Browse The Web / Webbrowser

    One question before I install this: Is there a possibility to change the remote buttons? If not, could we have one - because my remote (Medion X10) doesn't have a #...
     
  5. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: [Plugin] Browse The Web / Webbrowser

    Hi userjan,

    did you enable the OSD for the link id in the setup ?

    to profe the function try first using the keyboard:

    Keyboard...Remote...Function
    ----------------------------------
    P...Play...select a url
    B...Stop...blank page
    Space...Pause...home page
    0-9...0-9...Select a link ID
    U...#...confirm link ID
    Page up...P+...zoom out
    Page down...P-...zoom in
    F7...Step backw...go backward
    F8...Step forw...go forward
    F9...Yellow...show favorites
    R...Rec...add bookmark
    up...up...move up
    down...down...move down
    left...left...move left
    right...right...move right
    ESC...ESC...leave plugin
    M...Mute...toggle mute
    X...Red...toggle statusbar

    I do not log much right now I will add more log in the next version.
    Also I recommend to set the rest time to 2.5 s or longer .Depending how fast the PC is, it's hard to enter the numbers with the remote. XP my X10 is quite slow on my P4. On my other machine WIN7 and duo core it works "Normal".

    The action to confirm the link ID is "ACTION_PARENT_DIR". Maybe its the button right under the "9".
    I may can do a setup for it later or add another button in the next version

    So far..
    kroko
     
  6. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: [Plugin] Browse The Web / Webbrowser

    So now the version 0.1.1 is online. I added some log and a diagnostic for the remote. Switch the option on and enable the status bar. Now you can see commands from the remote on the screen.

    Also I plan to have thums in the bookmarks. Do you like this ?

    Have a nice week
    kroko

    :D
     
  7. userjan
    • Premium Supporter

    userjan MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 14, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Location:
    USA, Greeneville, TN
    Ratings:
    +26 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Re: AW: [Plugin] Browse The Web / Webbrowser

    nice work Kroko.. :)

    Tride the new version, and somehow on the same page entering the id doesnt work ( "https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/mediaportal-plugins-47/'' )

    The command showing up is REMOTE_1 when i try to enter a id (but nothing happens, also litle id window doesnot popup)

    Added some new logs...

    Thx
     
  8. Hawkeye

    Hawkeye Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 29, 2005
    Messages:
    523
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    digital media designer
    Location:
    Halle (Saale)
    Ratings:
    +84 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: [Plugin] Browse The Web / Webbrowser

    Sshould be "Channel list" and/or "Edit image" then... I'll confirm this when I had the time to test it.
     
  9. DieBagger
    • Team MediaPortal

    DieBagger Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,516
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Android Developer
    Location:
    Austria
    Ratings:
    +1,302 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Re: AW: [Plugin] Browse The Web / Webbrowser

    Lol, this would look good with the new coverflow view...
     
  10. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: [Plugin] Browse The Web / Webbrowser

    Thanks for the flowers....

    userjan : I just forget to mention you need to put the log verbosity to "debug". Otherwise nothing will be logged.

    Also I add the Action "Aspect Ratio" also to confirm the link.

    Of course if a button is not maped on the remote you dont see anything in the status. So by changing different buttons make sure the display is showing something.

    I'm on the road today but maybe will have some time in the afternnon to add the Remote_1 for you.

    kroko
     
  11. xavier
    • Premium Supporter

    xavier MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 12, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Venice
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs
    Cool !

    I can use this plugin with Infoservice?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!