Plugin: CEC remote for MP2

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by -Manfred-, July 27, 2013.

  1. -Manfred-
    • Team MediaPortal

    -Manfred- Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    341
    Ratings:
    +350 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Hi



    Take your TV remote and control MP2 with it if you have CEC adapter made by Pulse-Eight. Only remote controlling part now implemented so please don't ask about device controls. Has only one setting; HDMI port.

    Plugin can be downloaded here: CECRemote

    -m

    Edit by Morpheus_xx:
    There is a first test build for new Summer'15 Update 1 release (2015-09-07) attached. But before you can use this build, you need to modify MP2-Client.exe.config:
    • Open file C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Client\MP2-Client.exe.config in a text editor (as Administrator!)
    • Change:
      into
      at the end of the file.
    This is required because the CEC library is only available as .NET2, while MP2 is at .NET4.5.1.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: October 24, 2018
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 6
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. chefkoch
    • Team MediaPortal

    chefkoch Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,130
    Likes Received:
    1,456
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Dresden / Munich / Maastricht
    Ratings:
    +1,773 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    (y) (y) (y) THANKS :)

    Sadly I don't have a CEC adapter, but this is a very important feature imo. Thanks for working on the MP2 implementation.
    Is the source code available?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,425
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,077 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    CEC remote control is for me next gen remote exchange ...
    in future, lot of HTPC Case should be without IR Remote ...
     
  5. Ournev

    Ournev Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 30, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Already have a CEC adapter and plugin for MP2, been working well now for quite a while and would recommend it to all.
    A much tidier set up too with a thumbs up from SWMBO.
     
  6. Arturas1976
    • Premium Supporter

    Arturas1976 MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 5, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    29
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vilnius
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0
    Home Country:
    Lithuania Lithuania
    Show System Specs
    I do not get why XBMC CEC does not require that physical adapter. Just wondering...
     
  7. msj33
    • Premium Supporter

    msj33 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 30, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    41
    Ratings:
    +69 / 3
    Home Country:
    England England
    It does require a CEC adapter - Think you have read of the Raspberry PI XBM builds - This board has onboard CEC-adapter - Only 1 or 2 Intel motherboards have the same thing - Hopefully we can see spread to other boards.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  8. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    4,711
    Ratings:
    +6,751 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @-Manfred- would you like to upload your plugin to the new download section on our homepage https://www.team-mediaportal.com/extensions/mp2-plugins? Would be good to add a few notes what the plugin does and how it needs to be installed.

    Thanks a lot, it brings MP2 forward (y)!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. -Manfred-
    • Team MediaPortal

    -Manfred- Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    341
    Ratings:
    +350 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Can do during the weekend. Where I should put source? Is this thread a good place? Might help other plugin devs.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  10. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    4,711
    Ratings:
    +6,751 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thanks!

    You can create a branch in MP2 repo, or fork the MP2 repo and add sources there.
     
  11. Jay_UK
    • Team MediaPortal

    Jay_UK Test Group

    Joined:
    October 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    Enterprise Architect
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi there,

    Do we know where the latest source is??

    Thanks,

    J.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!