1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Plugin] Chess | Page 2

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by kroko, May 24, 2007.

  1. eagle

    eagle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 25, 2004
    Messages:
    589
    Occupation:
    Software-Developer
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +74 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    nice idea to have a game-menu :)

    I would like to have chess in mp too :)





    I second the proposales of tomtom21000. Maybe battleship should be played over the server so two people in different rooms can compete.

    eagle
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mzemina
    • Team MediaPortal

    mzemina Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,065
    Occupation:
    Project Manager
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
  4. eagle

    eagle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 25, 2004
    Messages:
    589
    Occupation:
    Software-Developer
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +74 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Does anybody know Bubble-Breaker? To get an Idea how it works have a look here

    eagle
     
  5. Stone123

    Stone123 Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    It worked good in stable MP . I upgraded to SVN version and it stoped functioning, as it is expected i think..

    It should be ajustuble to level. I don't know if you tryed crafty chess engine. It is realy simple.


    http://www.craftychess.com/


    And the game that i use most often is pawn(becouse it has move back when you regret some move ). Realy good user interface :

    http://www.download.com/Pawn/3000-7562_4-10495650.html?tag=lst-0-1
     
  6. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi Stone123,

    right now I'm using external chess engines which normally uses with software like winboard. So I only need to program the gui and a move checker.

    Zappa is a free engine and use protool v2. There are may 100+ engines which could be used just by exchanging the enine.
    http://www.tim-mann.org/engines.html


    I plan to do a setup, so the user can use whatever engine.

    -> I have the undo move button already working.
    -> And I can now show also the possible moves when you click a stone.
    -> And of course you can set the deep of searching moves

    Anyway for beginner it plays way to good even on deep 1.

    Still I missing some function like check for en passant (who is doing this ?)
    or rochade if your are checked.

    Give me a little bit more time and there will be another release of course for the SVN also.

    A later goal on the will be do have better gfx.


    :)

    Greetz
    kroko
     
  7. ringsting

    ringsting Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 9, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Xi'an, China
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great idea, i would love this plugin
     
  8. Stone123

    Stone123 Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    One more thing. In preview version of chess if you leave computer on after playing chess for a day it freezes the computer.

    Normal 32 bit 2.2 Athlon computer
    1 gig of RAM-mem.
     
  9. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi everybody,

    I updated the screenshot and the plugin. There is a dll for the 0.2.2 and the SVN/RC. Download on the top of this thread. I need to change some structures in the plugin. Thats why it still need to implement the check search. Anyway, if you like take a look.

    ;)

    Greetz
    kroko
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Stone123

    Stone123 Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Can you change pawn into queen when at the end of the board?

    And one more question.

    Do you kill chess engine when game is over? It looked to me that it ran in background and crashed my compter.
    SVN Version , no chessboard movment. Just left controlls.
     
  11. kroko

    kroko Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 4, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Occupation:
    plc programmer
    Location:
    Itzehoe
    Ratings:
    +211 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi Stone123,

    in this version you need to read the install instructions:

    Install:
    Copy the folder "chess" some on your hd. I have it in the MP folder
    In the configuration set the engine (exe file) and select protocol v2
    copy the skin and media files into the folder
    copy the dll into the plugin folder

    I changed to a setup, so you could use what ever engine. Right now go to the setup and set the path to zappa.exe (Chess folder in the ZIP)

    Of course we need to transform to a queen. (always?) It would be easiert to say always to queen. I will add this right now.

    I will do some work on the language part, but this will be only for the SVN only.

    Greetz
    kroko
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!