1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Plugin] Chess | Page 6

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by kroko, May 24, 2007.

  1. catch22
    • Premium Supporter

    catch22 MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Hi
    Im running chess 0.3 on windows 7 with BlueSkinWide and I get the floowing error and MP is trashed I have o kill it form the task manager.

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at MediaPortal.GUI.MyChess.MyChessGUI._Game_Tick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.TimerNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)

    Any ideas what is going on?





    Cheers
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. marcsulf

    marcsulf Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 16, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    R&D Process Engineer
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Is there an update of this plugin for MP 1.2.x?
     
  4. huha
    • Premium Supporter

    huha Extension Developer

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +622 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I recompiled Kroko´s version with 1.2. It is working fine for me. As I have not seen a response I assume it is no more supported, so i am uploading my recompiled version.
    All the credit goes to kroko.
    You have to use kroko´s original plugin and just substitute Chess.dll for MP1.2
    Please understand that i cannot do any more support for the plugin if this should not work for you.
    Greetings, huha

    Update: Below I am documenting the code changes i did in the plugin:

    MyChess.cs:

    line 45:
    //huha changes:
    // replaced MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.Dir.Base by MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.Dir.Config to avoid Windows Vista UAC access rights to program folder for saving and loading games
    // added assembly plugin compatibilty in assembly.cs
    // changed version number from 0.4.0.0 to 0.4.0.1

    // changed project properties .net framework to 3.5
    // unchecked project properties build code optimization
    // unchecked project properties build trace
    // one of the latter three caused for me an "image could not be loaded" exception of the plugin

    Line 60:
    if (File.Exists(MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.GetFolder(MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.Dir.Config) + "\\chess.sav"))

    Line 270:
    string path = MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.GetFolder(MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.Dir.Config) + @"\chess\";

    Line 551:
    if (File.Exists(MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.GetFolder(MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.Dir.Config) + "\\chess.sav"))

    Line555:
    StreamReader sr = new StreamReader(MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.GetFolder(MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.Dir.Config) + "\\chess.sav", false);

    Line 766:
    StreamWriter sw = new StreamWriter(MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.GetFolder(MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.Dir.Config) + "\\chess.sav", false);


    ChessSetupForm.cs:
    Line143:
    string path = MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.GetFolder(MediaPortal.Configuration.Config.Dir.Config);

    AssemblInfo.cs:
    // Sie können alle Werte angeben oder die standardmäßigen Revisions- und Buildnummern
    // übernehmen, indem Sie "*" eingeben:
    [assembly: AssemblyVersion("0.4.0.1")]
    [assembly: AssemblyFileVersion("0.4.0.1")]


    [assembly: CompatibleVersion("1.1.6.27652")]
    [assembly: UsesSubsystem("MP.SkinEngine")]
    [assembly: UsesSubsystem("MP.Config")]
     

    Attached Files:

    • Chess.zip
      File size:
      20.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      January 29, 2012
      Views:
      88
    • Like Like x 3
  5. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,389
    Likes Received:
    4,409
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Glashütten (Hochtaunus)
    Ratings:
    +6,480 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: [Plugin] Chess

    Long awaited - finally there! Big :D huha!
    And now: Could you recompile the other games of kroko as well - seems he is not very active here...
     
  6. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,389
    Likes Received:
    4,409
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Glashütten (Hochtaunus)
    Ratings:
    +6,480 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: [Plugin] Chess

    Hi huha, put the dll into plugin\windows, and I also have the old Chess folder in MP base folder (because the My+Chess.mpi form archive won´t install). But when starting Chess, I don´t get the message from the program (AFAIK something Hello from the chess engine or similiar), and I also can´t make any move.
    Any ideas/hints?
     
  7. huha
    • Premium Supporter

    huha Extension Developer

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +622 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi Catavolt,
    I have not used any other games from kroko and do not have the time to follow that up - sorry. I hope someone else can recompile.
    On chess I did change the save folder to ProgramData (like described here in my previous post). I have installed the chess engine in
    C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\Chess
    and do get the window message at the beginning. I am using your skin PureVisionHD.
    The chess engine i got from the source code of kroko in the release folder
     
  8. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,389
    Likes Received:
    4,409
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Glashütten (Hochtaunus)
    Ratings:
    +6,480 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: [Plugin] Chess

    Hi huha, found it out by myself where to put the Chess engines (from the error message in Config referring to a path not found) ;)
    Again :D for your efforts. Maybe I provide a MPEI for Chess here later ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,389
    Likes Received:
    4,409
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Glashütten (Hochtaunus)
    Ratings:
    +6,480 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: [Plugin] Chess

    Well, here we go ;)
    Made up a Chess.mpei with a new chess.xml for DefaultWide. Tested the install three times, worked OK.
    Have fun :D
     

    Attached Files:

    • Chess.mpe1
      File size:
      3.2 MB
      Uploaded:
      January 29, 2012
      Views:
      126
    • 00-30-08.jpg
      00-30-08.jpg
      File size:
      90.8 KB
      Uploaded:
      January 30, 2012
      Views:
      90
    • Like Like x 4
  10. huha
    • Premium Supporter

    huha Extension Developer

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +622 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Chess for MP1.3 alfa
    I recompiled for 1.3 alfa. This version should work for both MP1.2 and Mp1.3 alfa.
    I also added a few error messages if the chess engine is not found and the settings are now stored in a separate xml file, as i had issues before.

    The .dll file is in Chess.zip and needs to replace the old version chess.dll.
    Please provide some testing.

    Update: zappa needs version 2 protocol, ufim needs version 1
     

    Attached Files:

    • Source.zip
      File size:
      1.3 MB
      Uploaded:
      November 11, 2012
      Views:
      79
    • Chess.zip
      File size:
      20.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      November 11, 2012
      Views:
      88
    Last edited: November 11, 2012
    • Like Like x 3
  11. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,389
    Likes Received:
    4,409
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Glashütten (Hochtaunus)
    Ratings:
    +6,480 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Nice work - THX huha :p
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!