[Plugin] MPSync - MediaPortal multi-seat Synchronization | Page 65

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by m3rcury, March 17, 2013.

  1. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    752
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,115 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I was just setting up Mpsync on a third system, and I didn't get it to work.
    Somehow, when I wanted to sync folders, mpsync wouldn't remember them for some reason, and it went in an infinite loop (don't know exactly which, didn't enable debug logging).
    Could very well be that I messed it up a bit, will dive into that when a more urgent problem is solved.

    Don't know how I got it as it is right now, but when I sync my (master)client to my server it doesn't get out of the loop
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. [DEBUG] MPSync: [Process_DB_folder] waiting for background threads to finish... 1 threads remaining processing {movingpictures.db3}.
    3.  
    You said a couple of pages earlier that when that was the case, that probably one of the databases (actually I only sync movingpictures) is corrupt, and deleting it from the server and syncing again would solve the problem.
    When I did that, I got a lot of errors that tables and such could not be found, and a movingpictures.db3 with filesize 0.

    Then I thought to be clever and manually copied the movingpictures.db3 from the (master)client to the server, and did a sync again. This resulted in the same (infinite?) loop of waiting for background threads to finish.



    Any ideas?

    Edit: Moving pictures doesn't seem to have any problem running on my (master)client, so does that mean that at least my source database isn't corrupt?
    Edit2: renamed server/nas to more appropriate terms. In this described case, I'm syncing from (master)client to server
     

    Attached Files:

    • MPSync.xml
      File size:
      1.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      March 6, 2016
      Views:
      72
    Last edited: March 6, 2016
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. m3rcury
    • Team MediaPortal

    m3rcury Development Group

    Joined:
    August 12, 2010
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +620 / 4
    Home Country:
    Malta Malta
    Show System Specs

    @doskabouter. It seems there might be an issue with synchronisation using Timestamp as looking into logs, the synchronisation completed successfully and for some reason, it kept on waiting... Can you give it a try using Triggers (which is more efficient and less taxing on the system) to see if the sync works to a finish?
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    752
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,115 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    That seems to do the trick, thanks!

    Are there any drawbacks using triggers, and should I also use them to sync the other (non-master) clients?

    Now for installing it on that third system...

    Edit:
    Ok, now I've installed on my third system, and there it synced successfully after switching to triggers.
    However, despite unchecking "Synchronize watched status betwwen clients", the resume* columns in the user_movie_settings are still overwritten (I can't continue a partly watched movie anymore), is this something that can be solved? It's the one dealbreaker for switching to moving pictures for me...
     
    Last edited: March 8, 2016
  5. m3rcury
    • Team MediaPortal

    m3rcury Development Group

    Joined:
    August 12, 2010
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +620 / 4
    Home Country:
    Malta Malta
    Show System Specs

    @doskabouter. The resume movie should work fine. I've tried it and didn't have issue. You need to wait a bit though for the update to take place, i.e. from the HTPC you were originally watching to the server and then from the server to the other HTPC you want to continue watching the movie.

    Can you please upload or pm you logs and MPSync*.xml files
     
  6. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    752
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,115 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I think I didn't explain the situation here as clear as I could, but the way I have it here is that on my devpc I arrange all the movies, select thumbs etc and push that database to central storage. From there I pull the database to the main htpc, and I don't want the resume values present on the main htpc to be overwritten. Hence I unchecked "Synchronize watched status betwwen clients" hoping it would leave the values stored on the htpc untouched.

    Is that how it should work? If so I'll do a complete fresh testrun and I'll pm you the logs, and if you want, I can include the databases as well
     
  7. m3rcury
    • Team MediaPortal

    m3rcury Development Group

    Joined:
    August 12, 2010
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +620 / 4
    Home Country:
    Malta Malta
    Show System Specs

    @doskabouter. This is how it should work.
     
  8. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    752
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,115 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Well, after doing a clean testrun with all the intermediate logs/databases etc, I suddenly saw that it was just working as expected, so eiher there was some magic update :) or I possibly messed up yesterday (either by accidentally starting moving pictures config, or pressing escape in moving pictures after getting the "play from the beginning of from where you left of" dialog...)

    I'll keep an eye on things and when this issue pops up again, I'll investigate first before complaining :)

    Edit: Now I've run it on the main htpc and I do see some strangeness, perhaps you can elaborate:
    There I have also enabled thumbs (Specific folders) synchronization, and that one never seems to complete (mpsync.xml,log attached) the db part does complete, but the thumbs don't, and I don't see any logging about that.

    Also when I open mpsync config, navigate to the Folders tab, selecting the "thumbs" item in the Folder List, and then Edit, both paths are empty. I have checked the folders as they are present in the mpsync.xml and they are valid and accessible for the user running mpsync.
     

    Attached Files:

    • MPSync.xml
      File size:
      1.5 KB
      Uploaded:
      March 10, 2016
      Views:
      66
    Last edited: March 10, 2016
  9. m3rcury
    • Team MediaPortal

    m3rcury Development Group

    Joined:
    August 12, 2010
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +620 / 4
    Home Country:
    Malta Malta
    Show System Specs

    @doskabouter. For file synchronisation you should find a separate xml for every path you configure. See if you find MPSync_XXXX.xml (XXXX being your folder name.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,796
    Likes Received:
    752
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,115 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, that could explain a lot.
    I've never seen those files myself, but that's probably because I've always just updated the plugin, and my suspicion is that these files were added some versions ago and the update process doesn't create them automatically.

    Now (at least on one client) sync works as expected, so thanks for your help!
     
  11. Flo70

    Flo70 Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 14, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hey m3rcury,

    I have a rather odd problem with file synchronisation: I replicate my thumbs-folder from a master HTPC to my dedicated TV-Server. From time to time espacially the tv-logos get corrupted in the Synchronisation target and end up as 0-byte files. MPSync obviously only checks name and timestamp but not filesize - so the corrupted files sit there until I delete them on the target.
    Is there a easy way to circumvent this?

    Best regards,
    Flo
     
    • Request done Request done x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!