1.15.0 - PowerScheduler plugin -- Standby before the timing set

Discussion in 'Archive' started by azzuro, August 23, 2016.

  1. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,181 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hello guy's, i have myself an issue with PowerScheduler.
    i explain my situation
    MultiSeat with dedicated TVserver ( nothing else on server )
    my TV-server is alone, (never connected to Keyboard / mouse or wire external screen, except for maintenance when needed "bios, ... " )
    i have set 20 min on Windows and Powerscheduler between the last "MP Client" activity and the Server send in sleep mode.
    my Server don't respect this delay, and the server shutdown in an delay of 5 min average after last MP Client activity.



    I don't have log to share, because not at home.

    Edit :
    Moved to new thread
    Add log & capture of setting.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Capture3.JPG
      Capture3.JPG
      File size:
      34.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 24, 2016
      Views:
      127
    • Capture2.JPG
      Capture2.JPG
      File size:
      34.3 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 24, 2016
      Views:
      127
    • Capture1.JPG
      Capture1.JPG
      File size:
      68.9 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 24, 2016
      Views:
      136
    Last edited: August 24, 2016
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Start a new thread please, and don't start the thread until you can provide log files.
     
  4. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,181 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The PS time setting does not have any effect unless the option for PS to force standby is also enabled.
    In your case, force standby is not enabled so the the PS time-out has no effect.
    [edit: The setting name is "put computer to sleep...". It's no surprise that the setting would have no effect unless you have also configured PS to put the computer to sleep! ;) ]

    So, for your current settings...
    Windows will try to suspend the system after it has been idle for 20 minutes.
    While a remote client is active, PS will prevent Windows automatic suspension.
    When remote client becomes idle, PS will prevent Windows automatic suspension for 2 extra minutes ("grace period").
    If there is no new remote client activity after 2 minutes, PS will allow Windows to suspend the system.

    If you want PS to prevent Windows from suspending thing system for 20 minutes after the last remote client activity then you must enable the PS force standby option.
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...uler_forces_system_to_go_to_standby_when_idle

    Very simple.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,181 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    tested this setting long time ago, and when was checked, my computer will be send in sleep mode, when clicking on "Apply"
    i re-enabled the option, i hope it's the trick, because when i need to do maintenance on MP-CLient, until MP is not started, my TVE go in standby, and it must always use WOL.

    Thanks MM.

    edit : using Remote Acces, will "Pause" the sleep timer, with the option enabled ?
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    No, remote access will do nothing to the timer.
    If you enable the PS network activity handler then suspension will be prevented while remote access is active.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,181 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hello guy's
    i think found an solution for solve my issue of short timing for an 100% server use.
    it's the : "System unattended sleep timeout" setting

    Power Options - Add "System unattended sleep timeout" - Windows 7 Help Forums

    Code (Text):
    1. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\7516b95f-f776-4464-8c53-06167f40cc99\8EC4B3A5-6868-48c2-BE75-4F3044BE88A7
    2.  
    3. Attributes DWORD
    4.  
    5. 1 = Hide "Console lock display off timeout"
    6. 2 = Show "Console lock display off timeout"
    7.  
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!