Problem with streaming | Page 6

Discussion in 'aMPdroid' started by Iceman89610, May 21, 2012.

  1. Jovi

    Jovi Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 8, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    ^^ That did the trick !!!



    Thank you very very much pünktchen :)

    It seems that even if Ampdroid crashes server continues transcoding quite a while as cpu usage stays rather heavy for couple of minutes. My A8 3870K seems to handle 720p tv rips quite well, haven't dared to try 1080p clips yet :D now I just have to try which client works best in which device (stock player/MX Player/VPlayer/VLC).
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. biohazardxxx

    biohazardxxx Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 5, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I've the same issue! Streaming starts for 1 second and then stops, CPU goes up to 100%. But it is the same with Low quality and any VLC quality. By using MX Player the stream does not stop but it stucks again and again.
    I'm using a AMD X2 250 CPU (dual core) with 3Ghz.
    The stranges thing is that this worked for a long time! Any idea what have been changed?

    Edit:
    Just tested to stream via WAN (internet) and it works fine! How can that be? Does the limited bandwidth throtle the CPU usage of mpeg down?
     
    Last edited: November 6, 2012
  4. biohazardxxx

    biohazardxxx Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 5, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I Just have done some more testing...
    With my Motorola Defy CM9 (4.1 Ice cream s.) streaming works fine in LAN and WAN. FFMPEG.exe is at 40%-70% CPU-Usage
    With my Samsung Galaxy tab 10.1 (4.1 Ice cream s.) streaming does not work from LAN and WAN. FFMPEG.exe is at 100% CPU-Usage

    So it looks like this is due to a bigger resolution at the device???
    Any one have a clou?
     
  5. Iceman89610

    Iceman89610 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2008
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Just a though, instead of transcoding the stream, why not just send out the raw stream like XMBC does? That would solve a lot of users issues with streaming.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!