Question about fonts in myhome.xml

Discussion in 'MediaStream' started by kiwijunglist, August 18, 2009.

  1. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I've been trying to add Mediastream's myhome.xml to StreamedMP (i like it better than StreamedMP)

    myhome looks good, if I also copy over mediastream's fonts.xml file, but this messes with the rest of StreamedMP.



    If I use the StreamedMP fonts.xml file then the myhome gets messed up. So logically i went through myhome.xml and wrote down all the fonts I needed to add, this didn't work i get missing text for the vertical scrolling menu in myhome.

    Can someone tell me how to solve my problem?

    ... Basically i want to get the attached myhome.xml to work with the attached fonts.xml, by adding the necessary fonts to fonts.xml sounds easy, but i can't do it after 3 hours of trying!!!! Alternatively if someone could tell me what to change in myhome.xml instead that would be fine too!! I basically need to leave all the fonts in fonts.xml there and just add anything extra that is necessary

    Please someone help me!
     

    Attached Files:

    • myHome.xml
      File size:
      30.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 18, 2009
      Views:
      168
    • fonts.xml
      File size:
      30.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 18, 2009
      Views:
      171
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ryan20021982
    • Team MediaPortal

    ryan20021982 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    83
    Occupation:
    Prison Guard
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +83 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Try this one
     

    Attached Files:

    • fonts.xml
      File size:
      30.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 18, 2009
      Views:
      189
  4. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I see that the 2 fonts are mediastream28 = Fluid Title Caps, size 30, bold and mediastream17b = Fluid Title Caps, size 17, bold.

    Show Spoiler

    <font>
    <name>mediastream28</name>
    <filename>Fluid Title Caps</filename>
    <height>30</height>
    <start>0</start>
    <end>1536</end>
    <bold>yes</bold>
    </font>

    <font>
    <name>mediastream17b</name>
    <filename>Fluid Body Caps</filename>
    <height>17</height>
    <start>0</start>
    <end>1536</end>
    <bold>yes</bold>
    </font>


    How come if this is near the end of the fonts file it doesn't work, but if i list these 2x fonts first then it works? Is there a limit to the number of fonts you can load? Or is there a problem if myhome.xml loads before mediaportal has finished importing the fonts?
     
  5. ryan20021982
    • Team MediaPortal

    ryan20021982 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    83
    Occupation:
    Prison Guard
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +83 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    If you look in your myhome it is also calling for mediastream27 but there is no 27 in the font file or even in the newest mediastream, I just added a 27 I think it was changed to 28, and added all the other missing fonts from mediastream.

    Not sure if its gonna work but worth a shot.
     
  6. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, it works for myhome.xml but messes up mytvguide.xml (Channel names are missing)
    I just can't understand why i can't change the fonts in myhome.xml to use the ones that are available in StreamedMP.
     
  7. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    You should be able to change them to the ones from StreamedMP, did you delete the cache? Fonts are cached too...
     
  8. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    thanks, pilehave got it going in the end. deleteing cache didn't seem to make a difference, but maybe i inadvertantly did clear the cache which may of helped
    anyways here is a copy of myhome.xml that can be used for people using StreamedMP with StreamedMP fonts.xml file.

    Is there a limit to the number of fonts you are allowed to load, i was expecting to just be able to combine the fonts.xml from both skins into a single file, but that never worked.
     
  9. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Yes, there is a limit to the number of font-definitions, I haven't got the excact figure but you probably met the limit when merging two font-sets.
     
  10. ryan20021982
    • Team MediaPortal

    ryan20021982 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    83
    Occupation:
    Prison Guard
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +83 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    That makes sense why it was giving you problems, I didnt know that.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!