Random error connecting to remote MySQL server at boot

Discussion in '1.5.x' started by klara31, October 7, 2013.

  1. klara31

    klara31 Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I am using a remote MySQL server as database server. Up to MP version 1.4, I never had problems connecting to the TvService during boot, but since 1.5 I do.

    After boot, every now and then MP throws an error stating that the TvService cannot be found. Checking in Services, I can confirm that the service indeed isn't started. When starting manually (start service), the TvService comes alive and MP is working.

    The log in C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\log\TVService-Error.txt shows the following error:



     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello klara31

    This error is coming from deep in the bowels of the database framework. I've looked at the code but to be completely honest I have no idea what is going on or what the error really means.

    Do you remember if you installed/configured the database yourself?
    Can you confirm that the TVService Windows service has a dependency on the MySQL5 service?

    mm
     
  4. klara31

    klara31 Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    MySQL is running on a Linux server. The TvService therefore has NO MySQL dependency as MySQL is NOT running on the windows machine. I have reverted back to 1.4 again, as this became quite annoying... I do not recall 1.4 (or definitely earlier versions) having this problem.

    This issue only occurs when (re)booting. To me, it looks like the TvService starts before the network is fully operational. The TvService windows service has only the RPC dependency. I tried adding lanmanserver and lanmanworkstation, but this did not solve my problem.
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Are you using a static IP address on the Windows server? Normally having the dependency on MySQL (which also requires network access) should make the TV service work smoothly. Obviously your situation is different... and I can't explain why upgrading from 1.4 to 1.5 would change anything.

    And has the problem gone away, or too early to tell?

    I don't know what the lanman* services are, but you could try adding dependency on the Server service. According to this:
    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/10855290/which-windows-service-ensures-network-connectivity
    ...it may help.
     
  6. klara31

    klara31 Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Yes, it is addressed as 192.168.100.10

    So far so good, but can't tell really. As soon as this happens again, I will let you know.

    These services should ensure that networking is running. I have tried to add them (both), but this did not solve the problem. I actually tried them using exactly the same post :)

    If you want me to run a specific test or with debug options, please let me know. I am happy to help!
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Sure. :)
    At the moment there is nothing to try. The thing is, I can't think of anything that was changed in MP 1.5 that would cause this. So, I'm a little "stumped".
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. klara31

    klara31 Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I am now back on 1.4 for a couple of days and still have NOT encountered the same issue as described above...
     
  9. klara31

    klara31 Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Just a note, or actually a moment of slight embarrassment:
    No, acutally I am not. The windows server gets its IP address via DHCP. The static IP is reserved for my Linux (database) server. I got those two mixed up. Sorry about that...
     
  10. klara31

    klara31 Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Browsing through the issues, I stumbled upon this one: https://issues.team-mediaportal.com/browse/MP1-4102
    Isn't it possible to (re)start the tvservice when MP itself is started?

    I have done some additional testing, and it looks to me like a timing issue at boot.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!