[Info] - Read this before reporting any TV Issues

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.2.0 BETA' started by jameson_uk, May 4, 2011.

  1. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,403 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    A new experimental feature is currently enabled in 1.2 beta that changes the way MP interacts with TV cards.
    TV Servers - MediaPortal Wiki
    This may however not work with all cards. It is currently set to pause to enable use to get some idea of how well this works and what problems it may cause. In RC this will be set back to stop.

    Before you report an issue with TV server can you please try changing this setting from pause to stop.

    If you still get the problem please continue and provide full logs


     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. rspierenburg

    rspierenburg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 18, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    Just a question, what sort of problems would you expect to be caused by this? Stuttering/Dropped frames or issues with actually seeing a channel?
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The things we've seen vary from tuner to tuner. It can be things like channel scanning not picking up channels or encrypted channels not being decrypted. Some people have reported BSODs...
     
  5. CrashUK

    CrashUK Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 24, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    This dont work on PCTV 4000i.. Just gives PMT error.. This should be off unless mediaportal know it works with that card.
     
  6. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,403 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    ;)
     
  7. Andrew H
    • Premium Supporter

    Andrew H MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 8, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    FYI I was having an issue with my ATi HDTV-Wonder card on my Win 7 machine... after reading this I had to use the STOP mode for the card and all is well again. FTR the PAUSE works on my system for both my Hauppauge 1600 and my AVerMedia Duet.
     
  8. kensiko

    kensiko Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 30, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Thanks for the tip. Since upgrading to 1.2, I was not able to skip 30 seconds forward or backward, or play faster. Changing from pause to stop corrected it. Also, changing channel was working but it would take 5 seconds playing the old channel before changing.

    Hauppage PVR-USB2 here and Windows 7 with client and server configuration.

    The only thing left is the menu buttons that is not showing when in fullscreen TV, but I can live with it.
     
  9. Peter2
    • Premium Supporter

    Peter2 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 18, 2006
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    45
    Ratings:
    +52 / 1
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    Hi guys, my system had issues with this setting - recordings didn't start, recording icon was flashing on/off and ?only? way to get around it was to reboot, until it occurred again.

    TV card: Hauppauge PVR350, driver 1.18.21.23257 - 14/09/2005

    Changing it to stop solved it.
     
  10. K24A3
    • Premium Supporter

    K24A3 MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    I have that problem almost everyday and triggered when idling after a few hours. The PC is always on and I never use Standby/hibernation.
    One or both of my tuners just stop working and I receive a "no free Tuner available" (or something like that) if I try to view Live TV, even when there is nothing currently being recorded.

    You don't need to reboot the PC to fix it, just go into the TV-Server Configuration, then into Manual Control, then Stop and Start the Service.

    I wander if this pause feature is causing it. I'll change the setting and see how I go...

    (Hauppauge Nova-TD USB with latest driver 29094, 1.2.0Beta, XP SP3, single seat)
     
  11. 2BitSculptor
    • Team MediaPortal

    2BitSculptor Super Moderator

    Joined:
    January 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    290
    Occupation:
    Sculptor - Maquettes, Resin Figure Model Kits, Toy
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +386 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Would this feature setting cause the tuner NOT to stop sending when Stopping live TV. I have a pair of HDHomeruns and after watching TV and stopping, then going on to something else, one tuner has a tuner active indicator light "on" and my router shows that it is communicating with the TV-Server, but nothing is being played or recorded.

    Should I look into it more deeply as a possible bug?

    Thanks,

    Chuck
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!