Really bad video playback

Discussion in '0.2.3.0 RC3 and SVN Builds' started by perry59, October 25, 2007.

  1. perry59

    perry59 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 17, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Drafter
    Location:
    Lebanon, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Video playback is so bad its not even usable.
    Most of my ripped-to-hd dvds just show a black screen. When they do play they are very slow and jerky. The preview window plays them ok though. So I cant even use this for video. Tried every codec listed in MP. The same videos play fine with other players.
    Going to ffdshow helped a lot, but not nearly enough.
    Not sure if this is a bug per se or if this is the proper place to report it. Sorry if not.
    Also, heres the logs from testtool.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. perry59

    perry59 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 17, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Drafter
    Location:
    Lebanon, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Just to update machine config...


    TV-Server Version:
    MediaPortal Version: 0.2.3 rc3
    MediaPortal Skin: xface
    Windows Version: Windows xp sp2
    CPU Type: Intel pentium mobies 1600 mghz
    HDD: western digital 500 mg usb2 7200 rpm
    Memory: 1 gig DDR 333mghz
    Motherboard: Dell OT1957
    Motherboard Chipset: Intel 82855PM
    Motherboard Bios: Phoenix 1.10 A09
    Video Card: nvidia Quadro FX go 700
    Video Card Driver:
    Sound Card: sigmatel c-major
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card:
    1. TV Card Type:
    1. TV Card Driver:
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec:
    MPEG2 Audio Codec:
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case:
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote:
    TV:
    TV - HTPC Connection:
     
  4. Mr Hipp
    • Premium Supporter

    Mr Hipp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +187 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Well you are having quite high screen resolution - 1920x1200 and using ffdshow.

    As far as I know ffdshow does not support dxva. That is why it is so slow. Try using a decoder that supports dxva.

    Mr Hipp
     
  5. OleJ

    OleJ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 13, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi Perry

    Please try just using MPV Codec and post logs from what happens when you use this.

    Do I understand you correctly that you've had it working fine with earlier versions of MP?
    In such case, which was the latest you used where it worked?

    ------------------------

    Looking through Perrys logs, what I see is the same jumble of pins as I see when I have problems with RC3 (and late RC2).

    Don't know for sure if it's relevant as I'm no developer, but perhaps try comparing my log from https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/dvd_menu_audio_choppy-t29798.html with Perrys log.

    Thanks :)

    -----------------

    Oh and Mr. Hipp:
    Perry states that the only codec that will give him anything near decent playback is ffdshow and that he has already tried all other codecs listed.
     
  6. Mr Hipp
    • Premium Supporter

    Mr Hipp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +187 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Ole and Perry
    I have had the same problem my self when I ran ffdshow. Please enable OSD CPU load in ffdshow. If I am right you CPU load should be around 100 %.

    Mr Hipp
     
  7. perry59

    perry59 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 17, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Drafter
    Location:
    Lebanon, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thanks for the input guys.
    Yes, I tried all the codecs listed in MP, its "native" ones plus cyberlink, intervideo, etc etc.
    All were totally useless, black screens, freezes. Only ffdshow would even show motion video
    but slow and jerky. MP still abruptly croaks sometimes when switching between movies.
    RC2 worked much better, but still not silky smooth. All movies play just fine though with WinDvd, PowerDvd,
    TheaterTek and even Windows media player.
    I'll try the OSD setting as soon as I get home Mr Hipp. Sure hope something works, I really like MP.
    (Downloaded a trial of SageTV and it played movies fine too, but it has its own issues, wma bugs, not
    as flexible and costs money to boot!)
     
  8. Mr Hipp
    • Premium Supporter

    Mr Hipp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +187 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Ok, I would try this.

    Select WinDVD as decoder in DVD codec configuration. make sure "Turn of DXVA" is not checked.
    In direct show filter control - WinDVD make sure Enable DXVA and Enable HWMC is checked.

    And for better PQ quality make sure in "Video Mixing Render 9 Advanced Settings"
    Use none square mixing is checked. Wait with enabling VMR9 filtering Mode until you get ok playback.

    Mr Hipp
     
  9. OleJ

    OleJ Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 13, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hei Mr Hipp

    Da måsta jag forsøka säga detta på svenskt: Problemet er inte ffdshow. Problemet er Video-avspelning i RC3. Han har reda forsøket alla andra codecs til video. Ffdshow var den endasta som vilja spela bara liten.
    Det er inte bra at föreslaga WinDVD då det er ett köpps-produkt.

    In english:
    Hello Mr Hipp
    Then I'll have to try to say this in swedish: The problem isn't ffdshow. The problem is playing video in RC3.
    He has already tried all his other codecs for video. FFdshow was the only one giving him just a little playback.
    Proposing WinDVD isn't the best solution since it's something he has to go pay for.

    I've always understood MediaPortal as being all about open source.
    Therefore MediaPortal should be able to play "any" content using free or open codecs. Especially the included ones (MPA+MPV).

    Now: In 0.2.2.0 final MPA+MPV would play all this content, but suddenly with 0.2.3.0 RCx it doesn't work.

    So when Perry post his problems the solution shouldn't be "Just buy somthing proprietary". Then you might as well just tell him to buy Vista and use MCE or buy XP MCE.

    I hope any of the above is getting through...

    I've used MP for years and I'm very happy and glad for the energy that has been put into the application. Don't hesitate in believing the fact I'm very grateful. Which is also why I get engaged here :)
     
  10. Mr Hipp
    • Premium Supporter

    Mr Hipp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +187 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    In order to play video in 1920x1200. The decoder must support hardware acceleration (DXVA). None of the
    open source decoders does that. And if we talk about DVD playback none of the open source decoders handles menus properly. So, Ole now maybe you understand why I recommend a comercial. Perry's need to do the following if he want to use open source is 1) Lower the resolution and 2) Be without DVD menus. For most people 2) is not an option ;)
     
  11. perry59

    perry59 Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 17, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Drafter
    Location:
    Lebanon, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I'll try all the above tonight and post back.
    Thing is though, I've always run at 1920x1200 resolution and it worked ok until RC3
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!