Really slow to load tv and change channels (1 Viewer)

Wart

October 4, 2012
Home Country
Australia Australia
Hi,

I'm new at this, trying to get a simple HTPC setup on which I can reliably watch TV. But the time it takes to start live TV or change channels has risen from about 4-5 seconds when I first started using Mediaportal (about 2 weeks ago) to about 12 seconds, and today it is now taking about 55 seconds to load a TV channel or switch channels. Not great for channel surfing...

The log files are attached. At 18:13 I turned the TV on to ABC1. After it tuned in (with a bit of stuttering) I waited about 10 seconds or so before changing to SBS1. It even took about 12 seconds just to close. I don't really understand the log files - I don't really know what to look for.

My system is: Dual core Intel Atom 1.8Ghz, ATI Mobility Radeon HD5430 512mb, 4GB RAM, Windows 7 (32-bit). I am using an Avermedia Twinstar Dual DVB-T USB tuner and the Cyberlink 10 Mpeg-2 codec.

Can anyone help?!

Thanks!

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello Wart

Something is not right on your system.
    There have been a couple of reports like this recently.
    Check your CPU and HDD utilisation.
    I suspect you may find Windows Defender or MS Security Essentials... or whatever security software you use... is scanning the MP and TV Server applications and/or timeshifting and recording folders.
    Either that or something else is hitting your CPU and HDD *really* hard.

mm

JimCatMP

Documentation Group
  • Team MediaPortal
  • April 1, 2010
    Leeds
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Additionally, you may want to look at using RAM Disk for timeshift to reduce HDD traffic, and provided you keep RAM disk only for timeshift you can safely exclude the drive within security software settings.

Cheers - JCMP

Arturas1976

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • January 5, 2008