Schedules Direct US/Canadian/Mexico EPG Plugin (Updated August 2010) | Page 3

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by patrick, August 21, 2007.

  1. Shurik

    Shurik Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 13, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Alberta
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Sorry for a dumb question, but I'm a bit unclear about requirements for MP version.. I have 0.2.2.0 stable running and the plugin crashed when I tried to configure it... Do I have to upgrade to the latest SVN version to use this plugin or should it work with 0.2.2.0 anyway (in case something is wrong with my system...).. Thanks!


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. elconejito

    elconejito Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 28, 2005
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    5
    Occupation:
    Graphic Artist
    Location:
    Falls Church, VA
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    i was running 2.3RC1 and it crashed until i upped to a SVN (8/28 for me) which solved the problem
     
  4. patrick

    patrick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 20, 2005
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Southeast
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    It will not work with 0.2.2 stable, there has been changes in the MP core
    since then that make them incompatible.
    I have only tested with MP 0.2.3RC1 + a recent SVN (someone reported it
    worked for them with 2.3RC1).

    If you really cannot update to a recent MP version let me know and I could
    try a to do a one time build for 0.2.2.
    (I will not be able to update/maintain 3 different versions but might have
    time to do a one time build.)


    HTH,
    patrick
     
  5. Shurik

    Shurik Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 13, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Alberta
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Thanks Partick! I will try to update to the most recent SVN version.. The only problem is that I will have to configure all my TV related stuff (like setting up channels, sorting them, getting rid of all that my set-top box does not receive, etc..) and I hate doing that.. But, I guess, I should do that anyway - don't want to put pressure on you with extra work :) Much thanks to you for the job you are already doing... :)
     
  6. jelizalde

    jelizalde Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Mexico Mexico
    How to match channels?

    Sorry if the question is too basic (I'm a newbie in EPGs - used MediaPortal for some months but without EPG so far): the last couple of hours I was trying to get the plugin to work, but haven't been successful.

    The issue I have is that I cannot make the channels match: as I have a set-top box, I cannot run the "Autotune". I try to make the names match and tested several options {number} {callsign}, {number} alone, etc.

    For this last run, I set up Warner (channel 205 in my settop box and "205 WB" in Schedules Direct) in Mediaportal, with Name=205 and did not work (see log below). The channel number in the channel setup is 250000, the default for Settop (that cannot be changed)

    Prior to that, i use {number} {callsign} and name="205 WB", {number} {name} and the same name, etc.

    Any help greately appreciated!!!

    Thanks

    Juan





    ---------------------- epg.log
    2007-09-01 19:48:20.109375 [Info.][MPMain]: Schedules Direct EPG Client: version 1.0.0 starting
    2007-09-01 19:48:20.250000 [Info.][MPMain]: Date of last program entry in database currently 1/1/0001 12:00:00 AM
    2007-09-01 19:48:20.250000 [Info.][MPMain]: Configured to grab 5 days of EPG data
    2007-09-01 19:48:20.265625 [Info.][MPMain]: Scheduling first poll for SchedulesDirect listings at 9/1/2007 7:48:35 PM
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.500000 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Starting EPG refresh job on thread #10
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.500000 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: UTC time is 9/2/2007 12:48:35 AM, local time is 9/1/2007 7:48:35 PM (DST is True)
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.500000 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Rename Existing Channels is set to: False, with Template: {number}.
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.500000 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Add New Digital Channels is set to: True, with External Input: svhs.
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.500000 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Add New Analog Channels is set to: False, with External Input: svhs.
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.500000 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Channel Sorting is set to: True.
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.515625 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Allow Channel Matching without Frequency is set to: False.
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.515625 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Remap Channels on LineUp Changes set to: False.
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.515625 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Delete Channels with removed EPG Mapping is set to: False.
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.515625 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Add Extended Data (Air Date, Star Rating, etc) to description set to: True.
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.796875 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: RemoveOldPrograms()
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.796875 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: sql:DELETE FROM tblPrograms WHERE iEndTime < '20070831000000'
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.796875 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: sql:DELETE FROM canceledseries where iCancelTime < '20070831000000'
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.812500 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: RemoveOldPrograms done
    2007-09-01 19:48:35.812500 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: vacuum done
    2007-09-01 19:48:36.031250 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Requesting 24 hours of program listings from [9/1/2007 7:48:36 PM] to [9/2/2007 7:48:36 PM]
    2007-09-01 19:48:37.343750 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Processing lineup SKY [id=5024647:- type=Cable postcode=300MEXI]
    2007-09-01 19:48:37.375000 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Could not find a match for WB/205
    2007-09-01 19:48:37.390625 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Could not find a match for E!TV/206
    2007-09-01 19:48:37.406250 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Sucessfully processed 0 of 2 channels
    2007-09-01 19:48:37.406250 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: WARNING: Skipping schedule import (no channels sucessfully processed)
    2007-09-01 19:48:37.406250 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Removing any overlapping programs
    2007-09-01 19:48:37.437500 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Committing the transaction
    2007-09-01 19:48:37.890625 [Info.][Schedules Direct EPG Client]: Scheduling next poll for 9/2/2007 7:35:47 AM
    2007-09-01 19:48:39.343750 [Info.][MPMain]: Schedules Direct EPG Client: stopping
     
  7. patrick

    patrick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 20, 2005
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Southeast
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hi jelizalde,

    Couple different ways to do this.

    1. You should be able to name the channels in MP to just the callsign (NO number).
    So, instead of "205 WB" just rename it to "WB".
    Then the plugin should pick it up, rename it to however you set in the plugin config
    (or after it is mapped you can rename it manually to what ever you want)

    - or -

    2. Clear all you channels in MP, now in the plugin config, enable Analog channels
    to be added automatically like the digital.
    (This is in the plugin config in the same section as the setting for the digital channels)
    This should then automatically add all your analog channels for you using the external input
    you specified for digital and name then for you automatically.

    Let me know if you still have problems.

    HTH,
    patrick
     
  8. jelizalde

    jelizalde Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Mexico Mexico
    Patrick,

    Your suggestion (2) did the trick. It really rocks! Incredible what I was missing... I still have to re-map quite a few channels given the data for SKY TV Mexico (zip 300MEXI in schedulesdirect) is a little crappy, but the channels i record most (ESPN, SONY, WB, etc.) are fine.

    Thanks very much.

    Juan

    :D
     
  9. Das Hammer

    Das Hammer Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 14, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Das Hoosier State
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Wasn't sure if I needed to start a new thread or not. Seems this thread is the one for all of the questions.

    I'm running the TV3 engine and for some reason I'm only getting 24 hours of data. Not one whole day, 24 hours. That probably sounds stupid, let me explain.

    If I force the guide data to update at 7pm. I'll only have guide data until 7pm the next day. If I'm not mistaken, the guide data is received one whole day at a time. So, is it not getting into the database?

    I also have dial-up internet access (I know, I know. IF broadband was feasible, I'd be all over it). Maybe it just takes a while to get everything and then finally add it to the database?

    To further complicate things, I've got 4 lineups on schedules direct, and I'm still under the trial period. I thought the trial period might have something to do with it, but I'm pretty sure the data for an entire day is downloaded at once, not just 24 hours worth.

    Any thoughts?
     
  10. patrick

    patrick Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 20, 2005
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Southeast
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Das Hammer,

    It can take a long time on TV3 to load all the data in the database, particularly the first update b/c that is the largest.

    The way the plugin works is it will always download the "next 24 hours" first and put that in the database,
    this gets any last minute changes in schedules or gets you the first 24 hours faster.
    Then downloads the difference between what is in the database and the number of days you specified to download,
    this is why the first update takes the longest.

    If you still have problems, post the log after an update and we'll try to get it figured out ;)

    HTH,
    patrick
     
  11. Das Hammer

    Das Hammer Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 14, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Das Hoosier State
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    OK, it sounds like everything is working right, just my slow connection is causing my grief (once again).

    I poked around in the program table in the database and found that there is data out to sept. 15 for some channels. So, what I had was the next 24 hours, a big gap (10 days or so) and then data again. Sounds like it just needs more time to gather the data. With what you've told me, it appears everything is working, just needs some time. I appreciate all the work.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!