Signal level/quality: 0 with TV-server (Technisat Cablestar 2)

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by Hra_47, April 19, 2008.

  1. Hra_47

    Hra_47 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,



    My problem is that TV-server doesn't for some reason find any signal.

    -When I scan channels tv-server finds channels, but signal level/quality is whole time 0.
    -If I try to watch something, mediaportal will open the correct channel, but picture/sound is really terrible (~50% of screen is full of some colorful boxes (due to a missing signal?)).

    I've had this problem every time I have tried to use TV-server (so it is not a problem with TV server 1.0) and now i really would like to solve it. I have earlier used Mediaportals own inbuilt TV module which has worked perfectly.

    If someone has also Technisat Cablestar 2, what driver version you are using?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ronilse
    • Premium Supporter

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    Well - to be able to find out whats going on, you need to provide system specs & attach logs to your post, so we can see if any errors occur when you watch a channel.

    Regards
    Roy
     
  4. Hra_47

    Hra_47 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Here is information and log files from my setup.

    TV-Server Version: 1.0.0.0
    MediaPortal Version: 1.0.0.0
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue one
    Windows Version: XP SP2
    CPU Type: Thunderbird 1GHz
    Memory: 512MB
    Motherboard: Asus A7V
    Video Card: Geforce 4
    1. TV Card: Technisat Cablestar 2 (recognized as a B2C2)
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-C
    1. TV Card Driver: 4.4.1
    MPEG2 Video Codec: Dscaler
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Welho (Helsinki, Finland)
    TV - HTPC Connection: Coaxial
     
  5. Hra_47

    Hra_47 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I found out one strange detail about my problem:
    If I watch channels which are QAM128 modulated they don't work, BUT I have few channels with QAM64 modulation and I don't have any problem with them. How is this possible? Is the problem about Technisat drivers? Does someone have working system with Cablestar 2?
     
  6. diehard2
    • Premium Supporter

    diehard2 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2006
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    My understanding is that signal level and quality are reported by the drivers and the quality of this implementation (or whether it works at all) varies wildly.
     
  7. Hra_47

    Hra_47 Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 6, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It seems to be that way cause signal level/quality are always 0 (even though channel is working well)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!