[Rejected] Signal Strength for more TV cards. (1 Viewer)

framug

Super Moderator
  • Team MediaPortal
  • January 31, 2005
    5,900
    1,971
    South of France
    Home Country
    France France
    Many TV cards owner should be more happy with this code. :)
    Then, some of them will see signal strength values different than zero.
    I cleaned the code and removed others own logs.
    Finally, it's not many lines but, I hope you will be pleased with and, you will commit it in MP. ;)

    Note : Nova-T500 works fine because it is considered as 2 cards with one tuner each. (_tunerStatistics.Count = 1)
    Therefore, for some dual cards (Pinnacle DUAL DVB-T PRO PCI for example but, I suppose all dual tuner cards like this one) driver report one card with 2 tuners.
    In this case, _tunerStatistics.Count = 2 and stat.get_SignalLocked(out isLocked) always return false and, I didn't find why.
    Then, it appears MP doesn't work with those cards type, for the moment.

    Some own (very bad) logs wich could confirm that :
    ........
    2009-04-29 08:14:25.828125 [4]: dvb: RunGraph
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.250000 [4]: dvb: GetTunerSignalStatistics()
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.250000 [4]: fmu RunGraph subChannel2 :0
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.250000 [4]: fmu RunGraph _mapSubChannels.ContainsKey2
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.250000 [4]: fmu _tunerStatistics.Count :2
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.265625 [4]: fmu isLocked :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.265625 [4]: fmu isLocked :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.265625 [4]: fmu isLocked2 :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.265625 [4]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal waiting 20ms
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.281250 [4]: fmu _tunerStatistics.Count :2
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.281250 [4]: fmu isLocked :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.281250 [4]: fmu isLocked :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:30.281250 [4]: fmu isLocked2 :False
    ......
    ......
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.203125 [4]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal waiting 20ms
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.218750 [4]: fmu _tunerStatistics.Count :2
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.218750 [4]: fmu isLocked :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.218750 [4]: fmu isLocked :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.218750 [4]: fmu isLocked2 :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.234375 [4]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal waiting 20ms
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.250000 [4]: fmu _tunerStatistics.Count :2
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.250000 [4]: fmu isLocked :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.250000 [4]: fmu isLocked :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.250000 [4]: fmu isLocked2 :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.250000 [4]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal waiting 20ms
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.281250 [4]: fmu isLocked3 :False
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.281250 [4]: dvb: LockedInOnSignal could not lock onto channel - no signal or bad signal
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.281250 [4]: fmu RunGraph !LockedInOnSignal()2
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.281250 [4]: card2:setuptv 1 -1
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.281250 [4]: Controller: setuptv 1 -1
    2009-04-29 08:14:32.281250 [4]: Controller: Timeshifting failed, lets try next available card.
    I wish you a nice week-end.
    Franck.
     

    Attachments

    • TvCardDvbBase.patch
      30.6 KB

    framug

    Super Moderator
  • Team MediaPortal
  • January 31, 2005
    5,900
    1,971
    South of France
    Home Country
    France France
    • Thread starter
    • Moderator
    • #2
    Hi,

    Since half and two weeks without SVN integration and, 24th july is on approach (freeze), I suppose you found problem with this patch ?
    IMHO, this fix is important because with that, more users will have signal on their TV cards.
    I would like it will not be only reserved for Ray (PD), I and all NOVA-T500 users who can compile MP themself to benefit with, if possible. :)
    Since I'm not a magician, may I know what happens, please ?
    Also, I don't like my work goes in the trashcan, at least without knowing why. ;)
    Then, I'm sure this patch can't break MP.
    I tested with analog and DVB-T cards.
    Is there a problem with DVB-S, DVB-C and/or ATSC cards ?
    Is it because of the specific NOVA-T500 working way ?
    In my example (see remarks) -13 value became +87 because of the +100 - 13 operation.
    If this cause the problem then, by transforming the -13 to +13 value only in UpdateSignalQuality(bool force) could it be enough ?
    Then, I could apply the specific NOVA-T500 transform elsewhere in TVE3 code.
    This specific exception could also be applied for others cards working the same way, in the future, depending on users feedback.
    Please, let me know, if you want we go ahead for this problem.
    I'm ready to try to improve it but, I can't do more alone without your feedback.

    :D
     

    elliottmc

    Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • August 7, 2005
    14,927
    6,061
    Cardiff, UK
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I have asked the team for a response. I do know that there are not many people with the required expertise for this, and they are very busy, so please be patient.

    Best wishes,

    Mark
     

    morpheus_xx

    Retired Team Member
  • Team MediaPortal
  • March 24, 2007
    12,073
    7,459
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    Hi,

    I just want to tell you that we've seen your patch, checked it also. We also have a discussing thread which is 3 pages long, so we really looked into this.

    Main "issue" is, that there's obviously no real standard to interpret the values. After your patch also some values got to "3" (probably -97 +100), doesn't also look too well ;)

    We will look further into this topic...

    Morpheus
     

    framug

    Super Moderator
  • Team MediaPortal
  • January 31, 2005
    5,900
    1,971
    South of France
    Home Country
    France France
    • Thread starter
    • Moderator
    • #5
    Hi guys, :)
    MANY THANKS :D for your answers, I can be patient, no problem.
    Even if in this case, I would REALLY read what interesting things were written in this thread. ;)
    If you want we can talk more about... no problem for me.
    I just want to stay informed about [Pending] posts because, it's uncomfortable.
    I hope you can understand that. ;)
    Now, I know that you are aware of and, you will not forget it, it's pleasant. :D
    Main "issue" is, that there's obviously no real standard to interpret the values. After your patch also some values got to "3" (probably -97 +100), doesn't also look too well ;)
    Then, I suppose, it's not with a card wich works like a Nova-T500, that's why, I just proposed to externalize the Nova-T500 operation elsewhere.
    For example, it could simply be a ckeckbox in the TVE3 configuration Form.
    Users with Nova-T500 and similar could check it, others not.
    May be it will do the trick and, it will work for all users ?
    Let me know what you think about.
    Regards.
     

    elliottmc

    Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • August 7, 2005
    14,927
    6,061
    Cardiff, UK
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I have discussed this with the team in IRC.

    There is concern that this will cause problems with other cards, and there is simply no standard way for cards to report this data.

    We are waiting for someone with the correct expertise to comment. Hopefully it will not be too long.

    Best wishes,

    Mark
     

    framug

    Super Moderator
  • Team MediaPortal
  • January 31, 2005
    5,900
    1,971
    South of France
    Home Country
    France France
    • Thread starter
    • Moderator
    • #7
    Hi elliottmc/Mark, :)
    OK, thanks for this information.
    It is urgent to wait, then. :D
    Thank you.
    framug/Franck

    Edit : Sorry elliottmc, maybe I didn't understood correctly your last post (cause of my bad english, sometimes)
    You wrote : "this will cause problems with other cards"
    The checkedboxes in the configuration form I talked before was one checkedbox by card, of course.
    Regards.
     

    framug

    Super Moderator
  • Team MediaPortal
  • January 31, 2005
    5,900
    1,971
    South of France
    Home Country
    France France
    • Thread starter
    • Moderator
    • #8
    Since your feedback, I modified "a little bit" for not having the "3" (probably -97 +100) signal.
    Here are patches tested and, full working fine for my own use after database drop, both in analog and DVB-T situations.
    Then, the "expert" will be able to test it more easily.
    Bye.
     

    Attachments

    • img4.JPG
      img4.JPG
      64.5 KB
    • img3.JPG
      img3.JPG
      80.5 KB
    • img2.JPG
      img2.JPG
      73.7 KB
    • img1.JPG
      img1.JPG
      100.7 KB
    • img5.JPG
      img5.JPG
      65.3 KB
    • TvCards.Designer.patch
      30.7 KB
    • TvCardDvbBase.patch
      30.6 KB
    • TvCardBase.patch
      30.6 KB
    • ImportExport.patch
      30.6 KB
    • FormEditCard.patch
      30.6 KB
    • FormEditCard.Designer.patch
      30.7 KB
    • create_sqlserver_database.patch
      30.7 KB
    • create_mysql_database.patch
      30.7 KB
    • Card.patch
      30.6 KB
    • BusinessLayer.patch
      30.6 KB
    • TvCards.patch
      30.6 KB

    elliottmc

    Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • August 7, 2005
    14,927
    6,061
    Cardiff, UK
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Thanks for this.

    Would someone be able to produce binary files for user testing?

    Thanks,

    Mark
     

    chemelli

    Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 28, 2006
    6,159
    2,264
    49
    Milano, Italy
    Home Country
    Italy Italy
    What we would like to do is logging raw values and then collect as much logs as possible to get info from all possible vendors/drivers.

    Once those data are collected we can try to find a math rule to normalize values in Db.

    Simone
     

    Users who are viewing this thread

    Top Bottom