[no Bug] - SlimTVClient doesn't work remotely

Discussion in 'Older releases' started by MJGraf, October 3, 2011.

  1. MJGraf
    • Team MediaPortal

    MJGraf Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,475
    Likes Received:
    796
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 1
    Hi everybody,

    I'm having a problem with SlimTVClient when the client runs on a different machine than the (tv-)server.

    What I did is:
    Start MP2-Client on a different machine than TVE3 is running on.
    Go to SlimTVClient
    Start streaming a channel



    Logs attached. To me, both exceptions are unclear.

    1. The German part can be translated as "illegal character in path". The resource path "{04affa6c-ea42-4bd3-aa6f-c16dcef1d693}://0|rtsp://htpc_ffm:554/stream2.0" looks fine to me. The only illegal character I could imagine is "|", but in the code I saw that this seems to be inserted intentionally.

    2. EVRPresenter.dll is present in "\plugins\VideoPlayers".

    When I start MP2-Client on the same machine as the TVE3, it works. Any help appreciated!

    Michael
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    4,711
    Ratings:
    +6,751 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: SlimTVClient doesn't work remotely

    Hi,

    the first exception is "normal" (although not nice ;)): I need to have a way to distinguish master from PiP video stream. I do this currently by adding "0|" or "1|" in front of the rtsp: Maybe I'll change to some kind of suffix or I'll improve error handling in VideoPlayerBuilder.

    The LiveTv Player is used correctly:
    but anyhow the EvrPresenter is not loaded correctly, maybe because of missing references. Are you able to playback a normal video file locally? If not I would bet on missing VC runtime dlls.

    Thanks for testing and reporting :)

    Morpheus
     
  4. MJGraf
    • Team MediaPortal

    MJGraf Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,475
    Likes Received:
    796
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 1
    Thanks, Morpheus!

    Playing video file locally works (added a network share, on which there are some DVD-ISOs, as local share and even that worked). What runtime do you mean? I just installed MS VC++ 2010 (from April 2010) and it didn't help.

    btw: I didn't install the SlimDX Runtime on that client because the rest of MP2-Client works without problems. Could that be the reason?

    Thanks again,
    Michael
     
  5. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    4,711
    Ratings:
    +6,751 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: SlimTVClient doesn't work remotely

    strange... my own compiled versions do look like:
    Code (Text):
    1. +---SlimTvClient
    2. |   |   plugin.xml
    3. |   |   SlimTvClient.dll
    4. |   |   SlimTvInterfaces.dll
    5. |   |  
    6. |   +---Language
    7. |   |       strings_en.xml
    8. |   |      
    9. |   \---Skin
    10.           ...
    11.  
    12. +---VideoPlayers
    13. |   |   DirectShowLib-2005.dll
    14. |   |   EVRPresenter.dll
    15. |   |   plugin.xml
    16. |   |   VideoPlayers.dll
    17. |   |  
    18. |   \---Language
    19. |           strings_en.xml
    20.  
    Can you try to simply copy "DirectShowLib-2005.dll" and "EVRPresenter.dll" into SlimTvClient folder?
     
  6. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    4,711
    Ratings:
    +6,751 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: SlimTVClient doesn't work remotely

    Additional note: the SlimDX.dll should be present inside the SkinEngine plugin, so it should be ready for use (otherwise no rendering would be possible)
     
  7. MJGraf
    • Team MediaPortal

    MJGraf Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,475
    Likes Received:
    796
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 1
    Hi Morpheus,

    Sorry, installing the VC Runtime did help. Should have looked into the logs...
    Since installing the VC Runtime there was a different exception in the log:

    [2011-10-03 11:59:30,598] [52519 ] [Thread57 ] [DEBUG] - LiveTvPlayer: Initializing for media item 'rtsp://htpc_ffm:554/stream2.0'
    [2011-10-03 11:59:30,613] [52535 ] [Thread57 ] [DEBUG] - LiveTvPlayer: Initialize EVR
    [2011-10-03 11:59:32,431] [54352 ] [Thread57 ] [DEBUG] - LiveTvPlayer: Adding audio renderer
    [2011-10-03 11:59:32,431] [54352 ] [Thread57 ] [DEBUG] - LiveTvPlayer: Adding preferred codecs
    [2011-10-03 11:59:32,460] [54381 ] [Thread57 ] [DEBUG] - LiveTvPlayer: Adding file source
    [2011-10-03 11:59:32,466] [54387 ] [Thread57 ] [DEBUG] - LiveTvPlayer: Stop playing
    [2011-10-03 11:59:32,471] [54392 ] [Thread57 ] [INFO ] - Releasing filter MediaPortal.UI.Players.Video.VideoPlayer+EnhancedVideoRenderer, remaining references: 1
    [2011-10-03 11:59:32,603] [54524 ] [Thread57 ] [WARN ] - LiveTvPlayer: Error playing media item 'Resource '{04affa6c-ea42-4bd3-aa6f-c16dcef1d693}://0|rtsp://htpc_ffm:554/stream2.0' at system 'bcec7594-a30e-4dc6-bc69-9124b1afa6d0'
    System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80040154): Die COM-Klassenfactory für die Komponente mit CLSID {B9559486-E1BB-45D3-A2A2-9A7AFE49B23F} konnte aufgrund des folgenden Fehlers nicht abgerufen werden: 80040154.
    bei MediaPortal.UI.Players.Video.TsVideoPlayer.AddFileSource()
    bei MediaPortal.UI.Players.Video.VideoPlayer.SetMediaItemLocator(IResourceLocator locator)
    bei MediaPortal.Plugins.SlimTvClient.SlimTvPlayerBuilder.GetPlayer(IResourceLocator locator, String mimeType)

    Searching in the sourcecode pointed me to tsreader, which has this CLSID. I then realized that tsreader.ax is not yet part of the MP2-Client project, copied the one from my MP 1.2 installation over to the MP2-Client directory and did a "regsvr32 tsreader.ax": Tada - it works :)
    This also explains why it worked when I started MP2-Client on the same machine as TVE3: The latter is my regular htpc, which has of course MP 1.2 installed - and therefore tsreader.ax is registered. My current MP2-Client test machine is my laptop - no MP 1.2, no tsreader...

    Anyway: Thanks a lot for your help!

    First thoughts: I'm really impressed. The laptop only has a wlan connection, but streaming SD channels works flawlessly, even streaming two SD channels in pip mode works over wlan. Streaming HD channels works as well (cyberlink codec doesn't seem to work, I only get a black picture without any error message, but MS standard codec is fine). Only streaming two HD channels in pip mode was too much in that configuration :)

    One thing, that would be really nice (although it's really only a minimal thing, but when you want to test, it's a bit annoying): SlimTVClient doesn't remember the last selected channel group. The first channelgroup im my configuration is always "all channels". Although I don't have DVB-S here (only DVB-C), there are about 200-300 channels in that group. Therefore, when entering SlimTVClient, it always takes quite long until al the channels are loaded. I have a "standard" group with about 20 channels, which I'm regularly watching. If SlimTVClient could remeber that I last selected this group, this would make testing a lot easier (i.e. faster). I know, this is only minimal, so if you don't have the time, just forget about this (for now) ;)

    Last thing I noticed (but this may be a general topic not related to SlimTVClient): When I enter SlimTVClient and it takes so long to load the channels, the rotating "wait cursor" (or whatever it's called) doesn't show until I move my mouse. It first looks like nothing happened - only when I move the mouse, the wait cursor appears to tell me that something is going on in the background.

    Conclusion: Wow!!! If you leave aside my lack of knowledge on what has to be installed, I've seen many commercial alpha builds that were less stable than this snapshot git-compilation! I can just encourage everyone with just a little bit of programming knowledge (and mine is really a tiny little bit) to jump into MP2, compile the sources and enjoy! (and of course post proper bug reports to make MP2 as stable as MP1.2 :D ). I'm still browsing though the source code to better understand the concepts of MP2, but from what I've seen this is not only a media application but a real media framework with endless possibilities for add-ons. So let the plugins come :)

    cheers,
    Michael
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. Albert
    • Team MediaPortal

    Albert MP2 Developer

    Joined:
    February 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Dipl.-Inform.
    Location:
    Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: SlimTVClient doesn't work remotely

    Michael,
    thanks very much for your detailed bug reports and for your compliments!
    I hope you'll enjoy playing with MP2 :)

    Albert
     
  9. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    4,711
    Ratings:
    +6,751 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: SlimTVClient doesn't work remotely

    Thanks Michael!

    We already talked about requirement of TsReader.ax anywhere in the installer thread, but I totally forgot this...

    I hope you will enjoy MP2 even more in future :)
     
  10. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    4,711
    Ratings:
    +6,751 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Re: SlimTVClient doesn't work remotely

    I will implement this feature soon, it is already on my "todo-list" ;)

    Meanwhile you should change the channel group order inside SetupTv, move the "All Channels" to the last position. At least I did this to have my "Favoriten" Group at first :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,944
    Likes Received:
    4,711
    Ratings:
    +6,751 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: SlimTVClient doesn't work remotely

    Feature to remember/restore last channel group is now implemented :D
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!