Stereo Sound on 5.1 Speaker Setup | Page 2

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Snoopy87, January 12, 2017.

  1. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,795
    Likes Received:
    2,770
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,760 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    Hmmmm .. I set in Windows 5.1 in LAV bitstream and all (TuneIn, Flac 2.0, Flac 5.1, mp3, DTS etc) work fine with my Pio AVR.:coffee:


     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    No, it doesn't have to be. That's your preference. Sometimes you don't have a choice.

    We understand what you want. No need to explain again and again. ;)

    No program can do this. There are only workarounds. For example, the PCM could be encoded with a format that can be bit-streamed. In MP you might be able to achieve this with codec settings, MPAR and/or post-processing.

    No, this is impossible.


    If you do some research you'll find that Microsoft have intentionally not provided APIs for changing certain audio settings. Apparently this is because they think that only people (not programs like MP) should be able to change those settings. There's no official API for changing the default audio device, speaker setup etc.. Programs that want to change those settings must resort to reverse engineering Windows, using undocumented interfaces, and/or automation scripts (which simulate user activity). You'll find various programs and scripts that can change various audio settings with keyboard shortcuts etc.. Why don't you try one of them?
     
  4. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    The only way I know of for players to dynamically override the Windows speaker settings is by using an audio renderer that supports WASAPI Exclusive mode output e.g. MPAR or ReClock. Using WASAPI Exclusive mode means it bypasses the Windows audio mixer, but I don't use WASAPI myself so I can't tell you how to set it up.

    Non-bitstream audio from all sources/players on the PC goes via the Windows audio mixer, which automatically re-samples and down-mixes the sources as necessary to match the final output speaker setting and sample rate. Because compressed bitstreams e.g. Dolby & DTS can't be mixed and resampled, they bypass the mixer and are sent unchanged to the output.

    As for working around some of the mixer 'problems' for MP, one way is set up LAV audio decoder to bitstream Dolby & DTS streams, then enable enable 'Mixing' in LAV like this - https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...ching-or-recording.135736/page-2#post-1206737 - to handle everything else, so stereo is sent untouched but decoded (in LAV) multi-channel audio gets mixed to DPL II.

    Note that you have to set your Windows speaker settings to Stereo and set the AVR to decode DPL II to surround (I use DPL II Cinema mode) for this trick to work. It also means other multi-channel sources in the PC will get downmixed to stereo by Windows mixer.
     
  5. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thanks guys! I will play around with all those suggestions.

    Today I set up MPAR and disabled lip sync in LAV Filter. Now audio/video is 99,9% synchron. AND even though I set up 5.1 in Windows Speaker Setup stereo on TV channels where sent as stereo channels and not as 5.1! :)

    So for now:
    - TV is working correct
    - Movies working correct
    - 5.1 in WebBrowser is working correct
    - RadioTime is not using LAV Filter and not MPAR, so Internet Radio is sent as 5.1 PCM

    Does a plugin developer has acces to MPAR? So that I can ask the developer of this plugin to use the MediaPortal Configuration?

    @mm:
    "No, it doesn't have to be. That's your preference. Sometimes you don't have a choice."

    No! It IS the only correct way to handle this and most of us want to use this because it is the correct way. Of Course there might be a few users who don't want this or can't use this, but its a very small amount and of course there could be options to configure everything to fits their needs. 99,9% of AVR users never want to handle, change or mix up audio by the source. They want that the AVR handles everything. But of course there are a very small amount of users how have for example very, very old AVRs and they want to handle some audio formats or channel configurations by the source. That's ok, cause I don't say that there should be no options for them ;-) I just said which one is the default one ;-)
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    MPAR is a standard DirectShow/DirectSound audio renderer. Any program or plugin can use it if they're using DirectShow/DirectSound. If they're not using DirectShow/DirectSound then they won't have access to it.

    Upmixing does not have to be done by the AVR. I understand that you prefer to use AVR upmixing because you think it's better. However it's not the only way to upmix. That's why I said it's your preference.
    [Don't bother responding. Arguing is a waste of time.]
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,795
    Likes Received:
    2,770
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,760 / 30
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    TuneIn plugin only streamed to MP. Plays sound MP itself.

    --
    WBR, Andrew J.Swan
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I checked the RadioTime code here:
    https://github.com/puenktchen/RadioTime/tree/master/RadioTimePlugin

    It looks like RadioTime uses the default MP player. If I'm right, you have options.

    OPTION 1
    By default MP uses BASS for audio streams.
    You can configure BASS to upmix stereo to 5.1 or other:
    https://www.team-mediaportal.com/wi...sic Configuration#MusicConfiguration-Upmixing

    OPTION 2
    You can configure MP to use WASAPI (I think it is BASS WASAPI) for audio streams.
    https://www.team-mediaportal.com/wi...nfiguration#MusicConfiguration-PlayerSettings

    You can enable WASAPI exclusive mode, then configure the speaker setup:
    https://www.team-mediaportal.com/wi...Music Configuration#MusicConfiguration-WASAPI

    OPTION 3
    You can configure MP to use DirectShow/DirectSound ("Internal dshow player") for audio streams:
    https://www.team-mediaportal.com/wi...nfiguration#MusicConfiguration-PlayerSettings

    The codec that will be used is determined based on DirectShow merit. You can configure LAV audio merit to be very high so that it is used:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/ac3-filter-for-music-playing.133267/

    ...and then enable LAV upmixing.

    OPTION 4
    You can configure MP to use DirectShow/DirectSound ("Internal dshow player") for audio streams:
    https://www.team-mediaportal.com/wi...nfiguration#MusicConfiguration-PlayerSettings

    If it is possible (again I say: IF - I don't know if it is possible) to select MPAR as the sound device, you can use LAV (see option 3) + MPAR just as you do for video and TV.


    P.S. Using MPAR for TV streams is not recommended. It often causes problems.
     
    Last edited: January 14, 2017
    • Like Like x 3
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  9. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thanks! I will try your options! :)

    But I'm a little bit confused... you are talking about upmixing?! I don't want to upmix my signal. I want to set 5.1 in Windows Speaker Setup (so that 5.1 is working everywhere) and I want to PCM 2.0 send as PCM 2.0 and not packaged in a PCM 5.1 signal. I don't want to upmix PCM 2.0 to PCM 5.1. I will try if this can be done with your suggested options :)
     
  10. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,497
    Likes Received:
    717
    Ratings:
    +1,201 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I'm confused too, particularly with respect to some recomendations regarding bitstreaming, which I always thought was a no no in conjunction with MPAR.:confused:
    @Snoopy87 My setup is quite similar to yours, even the same GPU, except I have a Denon AVR, and I share your wish on how it should work. I don't want to hijack this thread but will continue to monitor it so please keep posting your progress.(y)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    That should be the default behavior so stereo sources should only play through your left and right speakers while all other speakers remain quiet, unless if your AVR does some upmixing of its own.
    However many users like myself would rather make use of more or all speakers even when playing stereo sources, that's called upmixing.
    Thus music which are typically stereo sources will play through all my surround speakers and make use of my subwoofer for a better room coverage.
    Please note that contrary to what you seem to imply earlier upmixing a digital audio signal by your computer, be it through software or "hardware" sound card means, does not have to be worst than what your AVR could do. On the contrary, your computer has most likely much more processing power than your AVR. Therefore providing that we could link processing power with the quality of the output signal your computer should be able to do a much better job than your AVR.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!