Stuttering/Corruption in OTA TV after random period of time (1 Viewer)

jickler

Portal Member
March 2, 2014
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hi everyone! I'm new to Mediaportal, but I'm really enjoying it. Made the switch from XBMC because I wanted to get better live TV functionality, and with a little regex tweaking the MP-TV/Moving Pictures plugins do a much better job scraping the library on my roommate's media server, which has a lot of questionably named files.

Anyway, the problem I'm having is that after watching TV for a certain period of time, the quality inevitably begins to degrade. Once it starts deteriorating, it continually gets worse until it's completely unwatchable. The visible symptoms are heavy artifacting, stuttering, and sound distortion. It used to happen after 10-20 minutes, but lately it's been stable for up to several hours before beginning to degrade. I moved my timeshift buffer to a ramdisk and installed the SAF codec pack that seems to be popular here. I'm not sure if that's what led to the improvement or if it was just coincidental.

I attached my logs and put my system specs in my profile, so hopefully I've included all the necessary info.

Thanks for your help!

EDIT: I forgot to add that when I plug the antenna directly into the TV I can watch everything without issue, which rules out the question of signal quality.

Last edited:

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome jickler :)

Thanks for the log files and the system information - can't tell you how nice it is not to have to ask. :)

So, we have the classic continuity errors in the TsWriter logs. This means the problem is a TV Server problem; nothing to do with playback (MediaPortal). Most common causes of these log entries are:
    1. Poor signal quality.
    2. Stressed HDD.