Subtitles require period immediately after movie name

Discussion in '1.2.x' started by BennTech, December 12, 2011.

  1. BennTech

    BennTech Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 8, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Seems like someone forgot to crop the period from the filename when subtitles got rebuilt for MP 1.2 because subtitles now require a period immediately after the matching movie filename. E.g.,



    The Human Centipede.mp4
    The Human Centipede.English for Non-English Only.srt (works)
    The Human Centipede.SP.srt (works)
    The Human Centipede FR.srt (fails because it has a space instead of a period)
    The Human Centipede-Klingon.srt (fails because it has a dash instead of a period)
    "FR" and "Klingon" fail because they do not have a period immediately after the movie name, even though the actual filename without the period is an exact match. These filenames used to work in previous MP versions.


    MediaPortal Version: 1.2 Final
    MediaPortal Skin: DefaultWide
    Windows Version: XP SP3
    CPU Type: Intel Quad-Core i7 920 2.66GHz
    HDD: Seagate 250GB & WD 750GB
    Memory: Mushkin 3x1GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
    Motherboard: ASUS P6T6 WS Revolution
    Video Card: nVidia GTX 460
    Video Card Driver: nVidia GeForce v275.33
    Sound Card: ADI AD2000B 8-channel HD (onboard)
    Sound Card AC3: optical out
    Sound Card Driver: SoundMAX v5.10.1.6520
    1. TV Card: Hauppage HVR-2250
    1. TV Card Type: ATSC
    1. TV Card Driver: Hauppauge v7.9.1.28162
    MPEG2 Video Codec: ffdshow-tryouts rev3940
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow-tryouts rev3940 and ACFilter v1.63b
    h.264 Video Codec: ffdshow-tryouts rev3940 with PureVideo v1.02.233
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Zalman HTC HD160 Plus
    Cooling: Scythe SCMNJ-1100
    Power Supply: Corsair 1000HX
    Remote: iMON via Harmony One (THANK YOU IRSS!!!)
    TV: LG 55LH90
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Tested and confirmed.

    When replacing a subtitles ".Dutch.srt" with " Dutch.srt" it doesnt work anymore..

    BUT, I wonder if this is a bug or done on purpose..
    Subtitle downloader autmotacially DL subtitles in the correct format.

    [BUG] or [FEATURE] ??? Who is to anwser? @tourettes ?
     
    Last edited: March 7, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    6,203
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,202 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    I think it's feature, it was design like this for a while but log could be nice too.
    @BennTech can you supply log and what subtitle engine did you use ?

    Just to be just you explain 'period' = a dot ?
    Thanks.
     
  5. BennTech

    BennTech Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 8, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Wow. This is old. I'd forgotten about this because I went through the PITA of renaming all my subtitles (but that doesn't mean other users or future subtitles won't have the same problem).

    I'm using the built-in MPC-HC subtitle renderer.

    No, it has not been like this "for a while". It started with v1.2.3. All prior versions did not require the period (technically that's a period, even though people also refer to it as dot). I know because I had many movies labeled without a period delimiter.

    I think the last two examples above that don't delimit with a period are perfectly acceptable. Those are not "wrong", they're just a different way to do it--a way that used to work. Why are we now forcing everyone to specifically use a period? And why a period instead of any other delimiter? Seems arbitrary. And why should we need a delimiter at all? The criteria has always been if first part of subtitle matches the filename, and it does, i.e., "The Human Centipede", which is the filename. The period is part of the extension.

    If you know anything about programming, you know how easy it is to be off by one byte when counting characters in a string. This is especially true when you're dealing with functions that automatically parse filename and extension--when you parse, is the extension string ".ext" or just "ext"? So when you truncate the extension off the full name, are you truncating 4 characters or just 3?

    Seems to me someone changed 1.2.3 to truncate just "ext", incorrectly leaving the period on the filename.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    6,203
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,202 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I didn't test before 1.2.3, and that part of code is c++, i can supply you the link of source and maybe you can help to fix it ?
    I don't know if it happen too on MPC-HC soft, if i remember correctly, source code was updated from MPC-HC source code for 1.2.3 version, so maybe MPC-HC change the rules and we simply relay on that :).
    That need testing but if you can nail down on what commit version it happen :)

    btw, can you supply your full log ? please.
    Thanks :)
     
  7. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,240
    Likes Received:
    6,203
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,202 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I have just tested on MPC-HC player :
    Around the World in 80 Days.mkv
    Around the World in 80 Days.subtitle-french1.srt (dot) --> work (detected as 'subtitle-french1')
    Around the World in 80 Days subtitle-french2.srt (space) --> don't work
    Around the World in 80 Days-subtitle-french3.srt (-) --> work (detected as '-subtitle-french3')
    The auto match for language didn't work.

    In MediaPortal :
    It detect only :
    Around the World in 80 Days.subtitle-french1.srt (dot) --> work (detected as 'subtitle-french1')
    Around the World in 80 Days-subtitle-french3.srt (-) --> work (detected as 'Around the World in 80 Days-subtitle-french3')

    So i would say, we match 1:1 (except the name detected) with MPC-HC player :)

    And to get a correct detection of language, the best is to rename subtitle with the period + language :)
    If you want another behaviour, best is to provide a patch to submit :)

    Thanks.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!