sudden complication watching recorded TV

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by koesterkm, August 31, 2019.

  1. koesterkm

    koesterkm Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 6, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    When I try to watch Recorded TV, MP is having trouble these past few days. Instead of giving me my list of recorded shows, it indicates a problem finding the "IP address or Host Name of the Master TV Service." My Computer Name is listed as the current setting. I didn't change anything, so I don't know why that is suddenly insufficient.
    My log folder is zipped and attached. My computer knowledge is not spectacular, so please give detailed steps for anything you need me to do to try to resolve this problem.
    Thanks, Kvn


     

    Attached Files:

    • log (2).zip
      File size:
      972.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      August 31, 2019
      Views:
      2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. koesterkm

    koesterkm Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 6, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Here are screenshots of the issue, in case they help[ determine the problem and/or solution.
    #1 appears after a pause, every time I click on Recorded TV.
    #2 appears if I click on Change. But I don't know what to change it to, nor even why it should be changed.
    #3 is the message I get when I click Done.
    Any help would be much appreciated.
    Thanks, Kvn
     

    Attached Files:

  4. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    541
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +961 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I don't know what is causing your problem, but I would suggest the following as possible causes:

    (1) You are using a dynamic network address, and your "TV Server" system has now been assigned a different network address. "TV Server" must use a static IP address.

    (2) There has been a Windows security update that has introduced more blocking of network addresses or ports, and the connection to "TV Server" is now blocked. You need to allow whatever network addresses and ports that "TV Server" uses.

    (3) There has been an update to the antivirus software that you are using that has done the same as (2). The fix is also the same as (2).

    I cannot tell you how to fix these, as I use Windows 7 with updates switched off and no antivirus (I don't connect my HTPC to the internet). Hopefully someone else can tell you what you need to check.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  5. wjw

    wjw Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I get this from time to time, never really tracked any specific cause, though I suspect a timing issue on restart after some Windows updates. When I see this screen I just press Exit (or Back, whichever you are using) then select the action again (EPG or recorded TV or whatever) and all is OK. Failing that, restart MP Client, failing that restart the PC to force a new communication between Server and Client. AS all this can be done with the remote it has become only a minor problem as I don't have to get up and find a keyboard!
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!