1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Temperatures in Home Screen

Discussion in 'StreamedMP' started by LennyW, November 15, 2016.

  1. LennyW

    LennyW Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2012
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I would like to have the CPU and board temperature on my home screen. I tried Speedfan and HTPCInfos but I get every information except the sensor values. :cry:
    I only need 2 temperatures,
    Is there a way to do this?

    Best regards
    LennyW


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. barneh
    • Premium Supporter

    barneh MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 4, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Edit the skin.

    But I would start with getting it work with HTPCInfo, since this plugin is made for presenting this information to you.
     
  4. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,393
    Likes Received:
    4,417
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Glashütten (Hochtaunus)
    Ratings:
    +6,491 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Unfortunately you have to edit your skin xml so the property names given by Speedfan coincide with the property names in the skin xml ;)
    As every PC give different property names, it is not possible to put generic names into the skin ;)
     
  5. LennyW

    LennyW Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2012
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Okay! I can only try based on the documentation of HTPCinfo, because I have no clue how xml files work. I will hopefully find some time on Friday.
     
  6. barneh
    • Premium Supporter

    barneh MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 4, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    As I said before, I recommend you to get it work with HTPCinfo, before starting to mix with the skin. Since there are quite good guides to get the HTPCinfo to work...
     
  7. LennyW

    LennyW Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2012
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    If I understand catavolt correctly, I also need modify the skin for HTPCinfo to see the sensor values. Is this correct?
     
  8. barneh
    • Premium Supporter

    barneh MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 4, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    No you don't need to tamper with the HTPCinfo skin.... you only need to get the right values in the HTPCinfo plugin, from your're sensor application (Speedfan). That should be enough...

    If you can't get it to work, drop a question with logs in the HTPCinfo plugin forum for help.
     
  9. catavolt
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    catavolt Design Group Manager

    Joined:
    August 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11,393
    Likes Received:
    4,417
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical Documentation, Translation
    Location:
    Glashütten (Hochtaunus)
    Ratings:
    +6,491 / 38
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Well, not quite right ;)
    In the skin there is a control for the temperature sensors like this one:
    Code (XML):
    1. <control>
    2.         <description>Temperature Sensors Value</description>
    3.         <type>label</type>
    4.         <id>1</id>
    5.         <posX>548</posX>
    6.         <posY>794</posY>
    7.         <font>font11</font>
    8.         <label>GPU: #HTPCInfo.SensorTemperatureGPU / PC: #HTPCInfo.SensorTemperatureSystem / CPU1: #HTPCInfo.SensorTemperatureCPU1 / CPU2: #HTPCInfo.SensorTemperatureCPU2 / CPU3: #HTPCInfo.SensorTemperatureCPU3 / CPU4: #HTPCInfo.SensorTemperatureCPU4 / HDD: #HTPCInfo.SensorTemperatureTemperaturHDD0</label>
    9.         <textcolor>ivory</textcolor>
    10.       </control>
    The letters after the property #HTPCInfo.SensorTemperature define the name of the sensors used in HTPCInfo. These letters MUST coincide with the letters shown in Speedfan.
    So if in Speedfan the temperature sensor for the GFX card is e.g. GFX, you have to change the value in the xml from #HTPCInfo.SensorTemperatureGPU to #HTPCInfo.SensorTemperatureGFX.
    This is only an excample - you have to adapt the relevant values to the values given in Speedfan.
    These values should be found in HTPCInfoOverview.xml. If you find them working there, you may use the same control on your BasicHome/Home screen ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!