That old chestnut - IMON

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Rob Hexenmeister, May 18, 2019.

  1. Rob Hexenmeister
    • Premium Supporter

    Rob Hexenmeister MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Slaithwaite
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Problems with IMON are well documented as well as the replacement dll for MiniDisplay with Soundgraph Display for iMON Manager >=8.01.0419 in plugin mode.

    I did have this all working until a recent upgrade to MP which has upset everything.

    I have got the VFD display working again on my Origen case, and I have managed to stop the remote control operating like it has a mind of its own.

    However, the volume OSD is not appearing on volume change. I am using master volume and Windows 7 compatibility, and the volume control is actually working (for a while it wasn't).



    I am a bit baffled. Obviously the volume OSD box is ticked in configuration. Any ideas anyone?


    Alternatively, if it is the IMON remote control driver that is interfering or defective, I am open to other ideas about driving the VFD on the case. The remote control is redundant anyway as I am using FLIRC which is brilliant, and is making my Sky Remote Control emulate keyboard presses. I could do away with the IMON manager and drivers entirely if there was an alternative I could use to drive the VFD display only.

    Any thoughts?
    RH
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    541
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +961 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I think that the volume can change in one of two ways:

    (1) The user tells MP to change the volume by pressing the volume buttons on an MCE RC6 remote control. MP displays the volume OSD, and tells Windows to change the volume.

    (2) The user tells Windows to change the volume by pressing the buttons on an Ortek/Hama remote control. Somehow, MP finds out that the volume has changed and displays the volume OSD.

    Now (2) works for me with MP 1.22f, but I am using "Wave" sound in "MP Config", and not "Master" sound. I am also using the "Windows 7" setting.

    If your IMON or FLIRC software is issuing keyboard shortcuts, it sounds similar to (2), so I would suggest trying the "Wave" setting. Also, try using different settings for "Show MP OSD" and "Hide Windows OSD" to see if you can find a combination that works for you.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  4. Rob Hexenmeister
    • Premium Supporter

    Rob Hexenmeister MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Slaithwaite
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thank you CyberSimian, I shall give it a go tomorrow, though with the FLIRC emulating a keyboard which is pressing the defined keys in MP for vol up and vol down, I am surprised it isn't picking up the volume change. I shall report back!
     
  5. Rob Hexenmeister
    • Premium Supporter

    Rob Hexenmeister MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Slaithwaite
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs

    Oh well, all permutations and combinations that I can think of have failed, including switching off HID and using the old keyboard method, using wave and using master volume, and using various volume scales. None seem to trigger the Volume OSD though the control is actually working.

    So, for the time being I am stuck without the volume OSD. I think the IMON remote control driver might be the cause, so if anyone is using other software to drive the VFD (LCD Smartie for instance?) I would be very grateful to hear your experiences - and pinch your configuration ;)


    RH
     
  6. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    541
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +961 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    :(

    The only other suggestion that I have is related to the MP version. In your "System Specs", you show the version of MP as 1.17. If you are really using that version, it would be worth updating to MP 1.22, as there were some changes in MP 1.22 relating to volume control.

    If you are already using MP 1.22, it may be the case that IMON and FLIRC are suffering a side effect of those changes in MP 1.22. The Ortek/Hama that I use suffered a side effect too, but a change to the config file for the Ortek/Hama cured that. Your symptoms are different, so I don't know what to suggest to cure the problem. :(

    Possibly another IMON/FLIRC user will comment?

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Rob Hexenmeister
    • Premium Supporter

    Rob Hexenmeister MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Slaithwaite
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs


    Indeed yes, a very recent upgrade, I have yet to update my specs. I shall do it right away!
    Thank you
    RH
     
  8. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,562
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    It's been a while since I spent time coding for MP1 but I vaguely remember there was a version of some MiniDisplay driver that would talk directly to that VFD.
    It's probably very doable for any developer with enough time to invest.
     
  9. Rob Hexenmeister
    • Premium Supporter

    Rob Hexenmeister MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Slaithwaite
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs

    Hi Stéphane,
    It would be a potential solution if there was something that would drive the VFD directly and I could uninstall IMON, but I doubt that anyone would want to invest their time in something as old as this. I might be snookered, unless there is an out of the box solution already in existence using something like LCDSmartie, I will just have to wait and see what turns up. Otherwise it could be the end of MP or the end of my HTPC case for me. :cry:

    KR

    Rob
     
  10. Rob Hexenmeister
    • Premium Supporter

    Rob Hexenmeister MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Slaithwaite
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Evening all,

    I still haven't been able to solve the lack of Volume OSD. It has just occurred to me. What about using Event Ghost (I don't have this installed and don't want to install it if it is not going to help and just slow my system)

    I was wondering, could I use a key press event for volume up / volume down / mute to show the volume OSD? Not a plugin I am familiar with.

    Thank you
    RH
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!