The Audio Renderer has an issue with some hardware / reference clock generation | Page 4

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by tourettes, February 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    It is the stream time - only place where you can get is is to query reference clock (and keep the pause & seek calcs in correct state). I see no reason why it would cause any issues if the reference clock runs non 1.0x speed - after all the DS has no other sources of the time than MPAR.




     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. l337
    • Premium Supporter

    l337 MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 18, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +77 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I have tested live TV with spdif Hdmi mediaPORTAL renderer with Lav codec
    If everything works perfectly
    the sound quality is poor as before (direct sound output)

    can this be?
     
    Last edited: March 2, 2013
  4. legnod
    • Premium Supporter

    legnod MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    275
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +303 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I got some time to test the new version and my synch issues (after pause or using skip steps) are gone! For now i only tested LiveTV and recordings but i will test more video formats the next days.
    Thank everyone for your great work!
     
  5. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Last edited: March 2, 2013
  6. l337
    • Premium Supporter

    l337 MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 18, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +77 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The playback works great without stuttering or resyncs
    The sound quallity is the same?
    What audio codec do you use in conjunction with mp renderer?
     
    Last edited: March 3, 2013
  7. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I did some extra logging just to make sure this really is the case - it is :)

    Also tried running MPAR at bias = 0.95 - the "SynchCorrection::GetMatchingSampleForTime: Not Enough Data" problem happens very quickly, but using bias = 1.05 it's fine, so it seems to be related to large slow-downs of the clock.

    Tony
     
  8. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    1) sound quality should be compared only to the 1.3.0 RC audio renderer's sound quality - this thread is only for regression testing
    2) renderer itself (DS renderer or MPAR) not usually the source for the bad sound quality
    3) if there is some sound quality issue in MPAR then a separate thread should be opened for that specific issue
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    It is also about sound quality - MPAR uses exclusive mode where OS mixer is bybassed. Althou in Windows 7 & 8 there is really minimal or pretty close to non-exisiting improvement to the OS mixer case.
     
    Last edited: March 3, 2013
    • Like Like x 2
  10. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    I'm not able to trigger that issue with slow down. I tried hard coded 0.5 bias inside MPAR and TsReader, LAV splitter and BDReader all are not causing the "not enough data" message to appear.

    Is there something extra what is needed to trigger that issue?
     
  11. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I've no idea, but attached are logs playing the same recording from the beginning for about 30 seconds, one with bias = 1.0 and one with bias = 0.95 (set from my modified TsReader.ax three seconds after 'run' - about 16 seconds later the "Not Enough Data" messages start). In both my tests and (I think) in FreakJ's situation (==24Hz on 60Hz display) there won't be any AdjustClock() calls, but I guess that shouldn't make a difference.

    Would you like me to try some different MPAR settings ?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!