[confirm] - timeshift buffer doesn't reset on channel change | Page 2

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 1 & 2' started by robcarter, May 11, 2010.

  1. robcarter

    robcarter Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 19, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    hi

    checked windows mce it just records from the last channel change, which is the more logical i think

    rob


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kevin939

    kevin939 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 16, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    computer systems architect
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
  4. Snader
    • Premium Supporter

    Snader MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 5, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Aalsmeer
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Same behaviour over here. I cannot zap into a different channel anymore. well, I can but it always starts playing from the beginning of the timeshift buffer... Don't know when this problem started though; maybe since experimenting with autocropping and IFC. I'l have a look..

    UPDATE! I managed to get rid of the problem! First I tried disabling all the plugins I had installed last week (IFC and onlinevideos). This didn't cure the problem. After that I reconfigured the timeshift folders. I had one folder for all cards and made all cards use a different folder. I started Mediaportal and the problem was gone!!

    So, I tried setting up de same folder again for all cards and... the problem did not come back!?

    If it happens again I will produce some logs, try to get rid of the problem and produce some logs again. For now.. the wife and kids are happy! :oops:
     
  5. Gixxer
    • Team MediaPortal

    Gixxer Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    41
    Occupation:
    Mechanical Engineer
    Location:
    Spain
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    think a little bit about it, maybe having the buffer of last channel is more logical (even my dvb-t box does that). but why have just the buffer of las channel??? maybe you want to check out something you watch or missed before.

    i cant understand the deal when having MORE. i could understand the opposite of this thread when someone asks for the buffer of previous channels.

    at the end of the day, their is no harm in having that buffer there. is it? yeah, you can RW too much and end up in a previous channel but cant think of that as a big deal, not as how i use the zapping and the timeshift.

    btw, no chances of changing this i guess so just adapt to how it works now. :sorry:
     
  6. kevin939

    kevin939 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 16, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    computer systems architect
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    The problem comes and goes for me - once it happens nothing will shift it but a reboot....I think I have tried tvserver restarts but not 100% sure
     
  7. Snader
    • Premium Supporter

    Snader MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 5, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Aalsmeer
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Problem was back againg yesterday. Probably after I had to quit MP with CTRL-ALT-DELETE. MP was opening a network directory while the machine which contains the directory was too busy doing something else. It took ages so I cosed MP with CTRL-ALT-DELETE and END PROCESS. Then started MP again and the problem was back. Zapping to another channel works, but the timeshift buffer plays from the beginning again.

    I closed MP, changed the timeshiftdirectories again and the problem was gone.
     
  8. martijnr17

    martijnr17 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 15, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I have a multiseat configuration and did a fresh install from 1.0.2 to 1.1 rc3.
    After this i have the same problem, on a changel change the time buffer goes to the beginning of the file instead of going futher.

    Also changed the timeshift folders for different cards but the problems stays.
     
  9. wouter1971
    • Premium Supporter

    wouter1971 MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 19, 2008
    Messages:
    911
    Likes Received:
    106
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Security Officer
    Location:
    Purmerend, Holland
    Ratings:
    +143 / 6
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I recently found out that changing my tuner priorities in tv setup fixed channel changes dramaticly. I believe that since i changed priorities the problem with the timeshift buffer is also gone. I changed the order in tv setup to give all priority to the tv cards and set iptv and streaming to low priority. This made channel changing also A LOT faster.
     
  10. martijnr17

    martijnr17 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 15, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    In an other thread i've found something about unc paths with that the problem is gone.
     
  11. Snader
    • Premium Supporter

    Snader MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 5, 2007
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Aalsmeer
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Would be nice to let us know what thread you mean?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!