Titanium Extended Theme Screensaver Question

Discussion in 'Skins and Design' started by BlueMax1916, March 11, 2018.

  1. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    60
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    is there any way to change the screensaver of the Titanium Extended Theme for the Blue Vision Skin from 'transparent black with clock' to completely black without clock? Just like MP1 Titan Extended Skin.




    Cheers

    Bue Max
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,536
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,377 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  4. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    60
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Ok, thanks. But when I want to have the same behaviour like MP1 'standby after 2 hours but screen blanking after 5 minutes' I can only go with the screensaver in MP2 or do it within Windows settings directly. I am just missing a 'black screensaver' that's all. I fear the white clock could burn in in the screen after two hours.

    Cheers

    Blue Max
     
  5. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,057
    Likes Received:
    1,518
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart (But living abroad)
    Ratings:
    +2,290 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Locate this file, make a backup copy and remove the marked area.
    MediaPortal-2/ScreenSaver.xaml at master · MediaPortal/MediaPortal-2 · GitHub

    If you want it completely black, change E0 to FF here.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,536
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,377 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The white clock would as much burn in as any other static MP2 or Windows menu. So if your Windows screen blanks out after say 10 min for concern about burn-in, why would you want to leave a MP2 screen on for a longer time?
     
  7. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    60
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @ge2301, thanks that did the trick. Exactly the behaviour I wanted.

    @HTPCSourcer, it is for my older LCD TV. My computer monitors are fine and I do not use the screensaver of Mp1 or MP2 there but on the LCD TV I notice 'shadows' when something white stays there for a while. Eventually it will go away after a certain time of use. Yesterday I installed MP2 on my main HTPC to try it out there. I have MP1 set up that it just shows a black screensaver screen after 5 minutes. That is a built in function of MP1 accessible via configuration. I do not need to do something in Windows energy settings. Windows itself does not blank the screen. If it would blank the screen then I would have a white bar with text on the screen that says 'videosignal is lost'. That is something we do not want either. We just want to have a black screen when MP is idle so nothing is 'catching the eye' when you stay in the living room without using the TV. It is our way to deal with this and certainly not everyone others way. It also has something to do with WAF :D

    Cheers

    Blue Max
     
  8. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +960 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I get that too, on my older Toshiba LCD TV (dates from 2006). Thankfully, my current Sony TV (from 2015) does not exhibit this behaviour. :)

    I too use MP1's blank screen saver, with a one-minute timeout. Certain settings on the Sony TV allow it to recognise a blank screen, and cause it to turn the LEDs off. This reduces wear-and tear, reduces power consumption by about 20 watts, and reduces my carbon footprint. For the Windows desktop, I use the "Aurora" screensaver with a five-minute timeout.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!