Trouble playing various HD sources | Page 2

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by sshaikh, May 20, 2009.

  1. sshaikh

    sshaikh Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    VLC: m2ts - video, no sound, ts - plays both, BBCHD (a recording I made via MP) - plays both.

    MPC-HC: plays everything.

    MPC properties suggests that the m2ts contains WVC1 video, but the other files are just h264, AC3 and mpeg audio.

    It seems that MPC-HC's internal TS splitter is handling these files correctly whereas MP isn't. Does MP use an internal TS splitter? Can I force it to use MPC/Gabest (which I've now installed as a standalone filter)?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,536
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    No experience with Win7 (but why do people make it hard for themselves by using an unsupported OS?) but with Vista you need 'proppage.dll' installed/registered to get GraphStudio to work, so Win7 may be the same.

    Tony
     
  4. sshaikh

    sshaikh Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Vista doesnt seem to want to install on this machine. What would you suggest is the next best OS? I just did a clean install of win7 again, this time x86. Exactly the same results. If using Vista will def sovle these then I'll spend some time figuring out how to install that instead, but I'm sure I had the same issues then too. In the meantime thanks for the graphedit tip, it now works okay:

    HD MKV:
    [​IMG]

    BBCHD (recorded via tvserver):
    [​IMG]

    m2ts (AVC truehd)
    [​IMG]

    ts: (vc1 truehd)
    [​IMG]

    Any clues? I'm sure I'm missing something simple here, especially since MPCHC works fine ON ALL sources.

    Another solution could be to just replace MP's internal player with MPCHC - Can I use that to watch sattelite too or just video files?

    And renaming the .ts files to .mkv makes them work perfectly. The same trick doesn't work for the m2ts though. All very bizarre.

    Same effect running with SAF. It seems that MP File reader is incapable of connecting to any video filter.
     
  5. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,536
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    No, I'm not suggesting you run Vista, it's more that the 'knowledge base' of running MP on Win7 is quite small, so you're much less likely to get support from users....

    AFAIK, MP always uses it's internal reader/splitter for MyTV (live and recorded). I don't think it uses it for MyVideo.

    Try raising the filter 'merit' of the MPC-HC splitter to maximum (you can do this in GraphStudio - part of the 'insert filter' function).

    Tony
     
  6. sshaikh

    sshaikh Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hmm, in that case forcing to use MPC-HC's splitter won't help with live telly then...
     
  7. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,536
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Correct....

    I don't run HD TV myself (just HD file playback) but I think the recommended codec for H.264 (i.e. BBCHD etc) is the Cyberlink PDVD7/8 one - but not the latest versions since these can't be used outside of PDVD itself....

    Tony
     
  8. sshaikh

    sshaikh Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Is it strictly a codec problem though? Or has this got something to do with tsreader only being able to use specific ones? I did try more than one, but maybe I was just unlucky twice. If so is there a definitive list of codecs it does and doesn't work with? I tried SAF (which I presume comes with tsreader-compatible codecs) and that didn't work either.

    I'll try PDVD.
     
  9. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,536
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!