Tuner Mapping

Discussion in 'Installation, configuration support' started by grandalf, June 9, 2010.

  1. grandalf

    grandalf Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 26, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Just a general question about mapping that despite a lot of reading, still don't really understand how it works. I am in the UK and have 4 Freeview tuners plus 2 sat cards picking up channels from Sky and Freesat. The question is, supposing I am recording with all four Freeview tuners and I want to do a futher recording of say BBC1. Now this is channel 1 on Freesat and my epg, but is channel 101 on both Sky and Freesat. What I do not understand is how the software would know to switch to 101 on a sat card, and indeed wheather to use Sky or Freesat. Maybe I am missing something here, but any enlightenment would be most gratefully accepted.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. feriso

    feriso Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 20, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Isn't this why you have the Combinination option in TV Server so you can effectively tell tv service that BBC 1 is available on Freeview and Sat.

    Hence depending on your priority of cards it will select a card to record from (e.g. if all your DVBT tuners are in use then it'll use the DVBS card instead but you are still recording BBC1)
     
  4. grandalf

    grandalf Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 26, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Its a while since I used MP but thats kind of what I thought. Only trouble is It appears to do nothing, if I click on a channel in the left hand pane, it gives me percentages on the other side. Problem is you do not seem to be able select both sides to combine them, just one side or the other, not really sure if it has done anything or not. Also should the epg box be checked. I also noticed that unlike earlier versions you do not seem to be able to move channel positions so they reflect through to the epg. Furthermore also in previous versions you could drag a box round blocks of channels and move or delete them, seems like you have to do them one at once now. It would be a nice feature to be able to sit down and change channel numbers with the remote, like in MCE. Still great prog though, many thanks for your reply.
     
  5. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    From your reply i read that you have not been able to get channel combining to work?

    What you should do:

    Select the channel you want to keep in your guide and combine with another channel. (BBC1 freeview)
    On the right you get the screen with the percentages.
    Select the channel you wish to combine with it (BBC1 on sat) and press combine.

    What this will do:
    It will add the SAT tuningdetails to the channel you selected on the left (BBC1 freeview)
    and it will delete the channel you selected on the right (BBC1 sat).
     
  6. grandalf

    grandalf Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 26, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply. Thats pretty much what I have been doing, no real indication that it has done anything though, maybe it has?. Just got back to playing around with MP after using Win7MC for a while, wife was giving me ear ache about missed recording and locking up on MP. MCE is reliable and easy to set up, but boring and not very configurable. Nice to see MP is getting rather better, only froze up on me 2-3 times over the weekend. Good work guys.
     
  7. riksmith

    riksmith Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,856
    Likes Received:
    321
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +321 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    When you edit the channel it should show 2 tuningdetails instead of 1.
     
  8. grandalf

    grandalf Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 26, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Thanks for that, I will check it out.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!