TV-card data gets replicated in TV server (USB / DVB-T)

Discussion in '1.2.x' started by HACH, September 20, 2011.

  1. HACH

    HACH Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Zurich
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    MediaPortal Version: 1.2.0
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue wide
    Windows Version: XP SP3
    CPU Type: Intel P4 531 / 3 GHZ
    HDD: SATA 160 GB
    Memory: 1 GB DDR2
    Motherboard:
    Video Card: ATI Radeon X300SE 128MB
    Video Card Driver: 6.14.10.6734
    Sound Card: Sigmatel
    Sound Card AC3:
    Sound Card Driver:
    1. TV Card: Hauppauge WinTV NOVA SE-2
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-S
    1. TV Card Driver: 2.121.25351.0
    2. TV Card: Pinnacle PCTV USB Stick
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    2. TV Card Driver: 5.2010.901.0
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: MPV Decoder
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: MPA Decoder
    h.264 Video Codec:
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Astra 19.2 / Hotbird 13.0
    HTPC Case: Dell Dimension 5100
    Cooling:
    Power Supply:
    Remote: Microsoft MCE Remote
    TV: Sharp Aquos 42XD1E
    TV - HTPC Connection: DVI

    Since a while (not only with 1.2.0 my TV server has a strange behaviour. Yesterday I did a upgrade install from 1.2.0 RC to 1.2.0. I recognized that my DVB-T cards appers twice in the card configuration. I cleaned it out (remove card and related channels in Config and remove USB stick of DVB-T card). Then placed back the stick, card was deteced and seen in config. After the scan it was working ok.

    Today now I get this picture (see attached file): DVB-T card appear 3 times (2 with unknown (id 7 and 8) and one as DVB-T (id 9). Of course now it is impossible to view the DVB-T channels (e.g. SF1). The device path of the id 9 corresponds with the one used in the windows device manager. The stick was not taken out.



    What could be the reason?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi HACH

    This problem can happen with USB tuners. What is happening is that the system device path for the tuner is changing. That means that Windows is changing the "address" for the tuner. When Windows changes the address then TV Server thinks it must be a new tuner. You may not be able to do anything about this. I would recommend always using the same USB port for the tuner, and don't unplug and replug. Using standby + resume might also cause this problem.

    Do you have other USB devices?

    mm
     
  4. HACH

    HACH Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Zurich
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    AW: TV-card data gets replicated in TV server (USB / DVB-T)

    Thanks for the hint mm!

    I have only one USB TV-Card. Without unpluging/pluging the USB stick I can reproduce the event when I shut-down the Server and start it again. With standby I cannot reproduce it.

    Are there means to prevent windows XP to re-scan USB ports?
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Re: AW: TV-card data gets replicated in TV server (USB / DVB-T)

    But do you have other USB devices (not necessarily TV tuners).

    Not that I know of. One thing you could try: increase the "delay before TV Server detects cards" setting in the "general" section of TV Server configuration. Wiki details are -->here<--.

    mm
     
  6. HACH

    HACH Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Zurich
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    AW: TV-card data gets replicated in TV server (USB / DVB-T)

    Following devices are connected to USB of TV server:
    - PCTV card
    - mouse
    - keyboard

    I'll try out the delay tonight.
    Thanks
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi again HACH

    Did the delay help?

    mm
     
  8. HACH

    HACH Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Zurich
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    AW: TV-card data gets replicated in TV server (USB / DVB-T)

    Hi mm

    was in holidays for a while.
    Put the delay to 5 seconds. Looks ok so far now (i.e. no replication anymore).
    Thanks for the hint.
    Hansjörg
     
  9. HACH

    HACH Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Zurich
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    AW: TV-card data gets replicated in TV server (USB / DVB-T)

    I was to early to take off the warning: same error pops-up again.
     
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi again HACH

    I'm sorry but I don't think there is anything we can do about this. You would probably have the same problem with other software...

    The best that you can do is map the channels to the "active" tuner and delete the "inactive" tuners. That should take about 20 seconds. No need to delete channels and rescan.

    mm
     
  11. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,535
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,129 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Not sure if it will help, but you can use the MS 'DevCon' command line device manager utility (see link below) to add/remove/restart devices - if you ran this from a batch file etc on startup it might be possible to 'clean up' the spurious USB tuners before TVserver looks for them.

    Tony
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!