TV jumps every 60-90 seconds - using 4TR

Discussion in 'General Support' started by scott_mckenzie, April 5, 2012.

  1. scott_mckenzie

    scott_mckenzie Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 3, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Hi all,
    I've just installed MP 1.2.2 with 4TR 1.6.0.2 as the TV server.
    what i've noticed is that every 60-90 seconds, the tv jumps/pauses for a second, and then continues to play as per normal.



    Has anyone else experienced this problem? Only other info i think i can provide that may help is that ive installed the Mustayauka theme as well as AnyDVD to support blu-ray playback.

    Thanks- Scott
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi Scott

    Can you try using both the files in the attached zip, just extract and replace the existing ones in C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal or C:\Program FilesX86\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal if 64bit OS.

    And no I do not see the jumps that you are seeing, so suspect tsreader is the main cause using the same setup as yourself, the other file is a updated one which has caused users problems, so that is just a precaution.

    These will be used in new MP release when it comes.
     

    Attached Files:

    • TsReader.zip
      File size:
      1.4 MB
      Uploaded:
      April 5, 2012
      Views:
      45
  4. scott_mckenzie

    scott_mckenzie Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 3, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    Thanks for the files, but unfortunately the same issue is still in place.
    I did one more test - i went directly into 4tr and started a live tv stream which played in VLC. it worked fine - no jumps, but have to say that the refresh rate was not as smooth as watching TV in MediaPortal.
    My gut feeling is that there is something wrong with my config as this doesn't seem to be a common issue. any thoughts?

    Cheers - Scott
     
  5. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    You'll have to tell us what your config is, and provide logs. We're good, but we're not psychic.
     
  6. scott_mckenzie

    scott_mckenzie Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 3, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Hi elliotmc,

    Fair call - sorry, I should have known you would have needed more info. I've run the debugger, and then recreated the issue in Media Portal and created the ouput file logs (attached). I've also attached screenshots of my 4tr settings.

    Thanks again for your help - Scott
     

    Attached Files:

  7. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    You seem to have the MediaPortal TV server installed as well as ForTheRecord. Is that normal? I've never used it.
     
  8. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    TVServer being installed is not a problem as long as it is disabled in services, as mine is.
     
  9. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Well in this case the logs show the TV server starting up, but also show logging from FTR.

    I don't know what to expect in this case.
     
  10. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yes he does need to disable that, as both MPTVServer and Argus are accessing the tv card.
     
  11. scott_mckenzie

    scott_mckenzie Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 3, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    OK I uninstalled MP TV Server,and the issue relating to the jumping is fixed. Funny thing now is that when I go from one channel to another is that MP displays an error displays saying "Unknown Error". The TV then stops playing,but I can then jump to another channel.

    Any suggestions? I've attached the log.

    Cheers - Scott
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!