TV Not Recording

Discussion in 'General' started by Scott6176, August 17, 2015.

  1. Scott6176

    Scott6176 New Member

    Joined:
    August 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi all, I have just upgraded to Windows 10 and subsequently needed Media Portal.

    Love the whole set up but when I am trying to record tv it is not working.

    I have the power scheduler active but it is not working.

    I have tried scheduling recordings and also clicking on record now. I have the folder set up for where these would be stored and the rec icon shows but nothing is actually recording.

    Any help would be great.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome! :)

    I'll get straight to the point...
    The TsWriter log file is telling me that some or all of your recording path does not exist.
    For example:
    [2015-08-17 19:00:39,584] [4596318] [554] - Recorder:unable to create file:'C:\Users\Public\Libraries\RecordedTV.library-ms\Hollyoaks - Channel 4 - 2015-08-17.ts' 3

    Please check that the folder C:\Users\Public\Libraries\RecordedTV.library-ms exists. If it doesn't, that would explain the problem. You could then solve the problem simply by creating the folder (or selecting a different recording folder in TV Server configuration).

    Regards,
    mm
     
  4. Scott6176

    Scott6176 New Member

    Joined:
    August 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Thank you for your reply and it totally worked. You are a superstar!
    The folder did exist but it was the one that the old media centre had so not sure if it was locked down.
    Could you help with the TV Guide at all.
    This was working but now says no data available. I followed the instructions on the Wiki page for the tv guide all the way through but still says no data.
    Any help would be great. Once the TV guide is up, i'm all set. :)
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Great, happy to help. :)

    I can try.
    Please can you give me a link to the wiki page you're referring to.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Scott6176

    Scott6176 New Member

    Joined:
    August 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Sorry, I'm confused because the page you linked describes multiple guide setup methods.
    What I'm trying to understand is which one you setup.
    Was it:
    • the built-in DVB EPG grabber
    • the XMLTV plugin with some external guide data source
    • the WebEPG plugin
    • some other plugin
    ...?
     
  8. Scott6176

    Scott6176 New Member

    Joined:
    August 17, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,526
    Likes Received:
    4,734
    Ratings:
    +8,200 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Okay, thanks.
    Yup, DVB EPG should be fine if configured appropriately.
    By appropriately I mean:
    1. In the main DVB EPG section of TV Server configuration:
      1. Ensure one or both of the timeshifting/recording EPG grabber, and/or the idle EPG grabber, is ticked.
      2. Ensure "grab EPG only for channels on same transponder" is unticked.
    2. In the TV EPG Grabber subsection under DVB EPG:
      1. Ensure "store data only for selected channels" is unticked.
      2. Untick all channels except one 24 hour channel. "BBC One" or "BBC One HD" would be a good choice.
    3. In the Radio EPG Grabber subsection under DVB EPG:
      1. Ensure "store data only for selected channels" is unticked.
      2. Untick all channels.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2019
  10. ToothFaerie

    ToothFaerie Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Followed to the letter still no EPG.
     
  11. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,550
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,377 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    That's not exactly true.

    Your tvserver log is showing that EPG was grabbed for four channels, BBC One HD, BBC Two HD, BBC ONe NI HD and a channel "6592". So things are working.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!