TV problems with LAV filters and MP 1.2.3

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by Owlsroost, October 22, 2012.

  1. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    If you are using the recent versions of LAV filters (0.51.3 and later) with MP 1.2.3, you may find that MP will not actually use LAV video decoder for live and recorded TV - even if it's selected in MP config for TV. Or it might not use DXVA2, so the CPU usage will be very high.

    If you have this problem, please try using the updated TsReader.ax from https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/attachments/tsreader_nostopmod63b-zip.113164/



    (To install the update, just close MP, unzip the file and copy the new TsReader.ax into the MP program folder e.g. C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal or C:\Program Files(x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal)

    Tony
     
    Last edited: October 22, 2012
    • Like Like x 4
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. toga67

    toga67 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 15, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for the update Tony.

    Thomas
     
  4. bribbon
    • Premium Supporter

    bribbon MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 11, 2008
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +106 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    Hi
    thanks for the workaround. since three days I've got many stuttering playback and I can't watch TV and recordings. In LAV 0.52: DXVA2 (native) was activated on all formats. I've switched o so to the TSreader above. But without any improvents. :(
    Watching TV starts with jutter and ends up after 1 minute to a freeze screen..
    Any more suggestions?

    EDIT: Logs and a printscreen attached
    Refresh Rate Changer is also activated.
     

    Attached Files:

    • freeze.jpg
      freeze.jpg
      File size:
      360.2 KB
      Uploaded:
      October 28, 2012
      Views:
      277
    Last edited: October 28, 2012
  5. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    You have lots of 'Continuity error...' in both the TsWriter and TsReader logs - check your tuner input connections etc.

    Tony
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Tmaniac

    Tmaniac Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    hmm, i replaced my tsreader after a complete fresh HTPC re-install....everytime i whatch live tv...the CPU kicks to max and screen starts to stutter.

    any other place where i should check?

    using the latest LAV filters
     
  7. RonD
    • Team MediaPortal

    RonD Test Group

    Joined:
    December 20, 2011
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    119
    Occupation:
    semi-pro slacker
    Location:
    SillyValley CA
    Ratings:
    +275 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Tmaniac,

    I would double check that you have LAV hardware acceleration enabled. Close MePo then use windows to start the LAV Video Config

    Start > All Programs > LAV Filters > LAV Video Config

    on the right side there should be an option for Hardware Acceleration. I'm using Intel HD2500 video so I enable Intel Quicksync. You could try DXVA2 (native) or 1 of the options for your video card.
     
  8. Tmaniac

    Tmaniac Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    well..i made a boo boo....

    i installed intelligent frame correction...it turns out that was the culprit..when i disabled that my cpu started to go down to 5%...so i'm a happy camper again.
     
  9. SimondusMaximus
    • Premium Supporter

    SimondusMaximus MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 27, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    @Tmaniac IFC works really well, but disabling the "black bar scanner" cuts down the processor usage you're experiencing.
     
  10. 6opuc

    6opuc Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    unix system s/w engineer
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Thank you very much. Finally i found this post and all my troubles are gone! You cannot imagine how long i was fighting with thiss!
     
  11. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    @Owlsroost - is this still viable, or can/should it be unsticked?
     

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!