[no Bug] - TV Randomly loses HTPC signal | Page 2

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.2.0 ALPHA' started by loutheo, January 31, 2011.

  1. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Re: TV Randomly loses HTPC signal

    loutheo,

    Your mediaportal.log is still strange in terms of not showing any user interaction. I don't see any command logged to start TV, nor is there any information about the watched channel logged. At what exact time did you stop watching TV in order to locate the right file?

    The application event log shows some entries "Jasmio.MediaCenter.Service" in combination with PowerEvents. I am not fully sure but I believe this service is related to Windows MediaCenter. However, the this should be deactivated when using Mediaportal. Do you have the MediaCenter running in parallel? Maybe there are some side effects.



    Regards,
    HTPC_Sourcer
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. loutheo

    loutheo Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Yeah I do use mediacenter also, but never have both running at the same time.

    Perhaps the lack of user interaction is due to my remote setup. I am using and MCEREmote with EventGhost, to get it going a pasted a messageplugin.xml which I found in the MP forums into this folder C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\InputDeviceMappings\defaults

    Could this be related to the problem?
     
  4. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Re: TV Randomly loses HTPC signal

    Although they may not be running at the same time, the MCE services are always active and therefore interact. Try to deactivate the MCE by using the respective option in the Mediaportal configuration settings.

    I don't think so but have to admit that I am not familiar with this kind of setup. Try to exclude MCE as the source first.
     
  5. loutheo

    loutheo Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    After your last post I found the setting you mentioned, exluding the MCE services. I havent had an issue of the screen going blank since, but still too early to tell if this has solved the problem. Will keep you posted.

    Thanks again.
     
  6. loutheo

    loutheo Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    The issue is still occurring. I will have another go at getting the logfile, this time ill setup my remote without eventghost and see if that helps. Will post back when I have it.

    Cheers
     
  7. loutheo

    loutheo Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Ok, so I feel silly. I should have checked the windows power settings earlier, I had meant too but just forgot about it. I remembered while I was doing the dishes last night and then promptly disabled windows from turning off my monitor after an idle period and it fixed it.

    Still, I find it a little strange though that Windows recognises videos playing in MP as the system being idle, still doesnt turn off the monitor though until that video stops...

    Oh well my issue is resolved anyway. Thanks for the assistance.
     
  8. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Re: TV Randomly loses HTPC signal

    Yes! :D
    Actually it's logical. While the video is playing MP recognizes the state as busy. However, since, there is no interaction between user and system, the underlying Windows is in the idle state. As soon as the video stops, MP changes its state from busy to idle - and then Windows energy saving options are kicking in.

    Have fun with MP,
    HTPC_sourcer
     
  9. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    haha.

    I wrote that exact thing for you in the very first reply :)

    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...-randomly-loses-htpc-signal-92998/#post709539
     
  10. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,400 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Re: TV Randomly loses HTPC signal

    True. He should have checked this from the very beginning. At that time I thought that he had just badly set his MP options...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!