TV Server Configuration Fails To Start - get_Cards() error | Page 2

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Richard Hole, December 19, 2016.

  1. Richard Hole

    Richard Hole Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 27, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    I am using MediaPortal 1. Where is its database stored?

    I have been using 'Full MediaPortal product cleanup' option when uninstalling.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Brownard
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brownard Development Group

    Joined:
    March 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    789
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,327 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    C:\ProgramData\MySQL\MySQL Server 5.6\data\mptvdb
    I'm not sure whether its safe to just delete those files though.

    Did you read my edit about 'step 4' in the wiki. I would try that first, i.e.
    • Right click the TV Setup shortcut on your desktop, select Properties, in the target box copy and paste the full text below, including quotes, then click OK
    Note: this path assumes you are using 64bit windows, if you are using 32 bit you will need to remove the (x86) bit after ProgramFiles
    • Double click the TV Setup shortcut, hopefully you will be presented with the dialog shown in the Wiki under 'Create New TV Server Database'
    • Update the hostname and schema as per the wiki
    • Test the connection, hopefully it succeeds
    • Click Save
    • Edit the TV Setup shortcut target back to it's original value, i.e. remove /Configure-DB from the end
    If that fails, you will need to upload a new set of logs after trying to start the TV Server configuration
     
  4. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    728
    Ratings:
    +1,218 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I have suffered this problem also, and to echo Brownards advice somewhat. For some reason it always happens if I reinstall MP 1 on my desktop PC (never a problem on my HTPC). I have only had limited success repairing the database connection so what I now do is the full uninstall of MP and TVserver, delete the Media Portal folder in Program Data and then unininstall MySQL and also delete the MySQL folders in Program Files (or x86) and in Program Data. Then I do a fresh install of MP 1 again and it all works!:)
     
  5. Richard Hole

    Richard Hole Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 27, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Hi Brownard

    I did what you said regarding step 4 and putting a space between SetupTv.exe and /Configure-DB. That fixed the problem I had before and TV server Configuration then started. It is unusual to have a space in an address like that.

    After downloading the TV channels, I then tried to open MediaPortal. However, now I get an error messages saying "direct3d device could not be created" which prevents it from opening.

    I also installed MediaPortal on another computer yesterday and it works without these problems. However, I find the new 1.15.0 version is more difficult to navigate and manage than the 1.2.3.0 version I had, so I will probably go back to 1.2.3.0. Or is there a way to make the interface the same so 1.15.0 version is like 1.2.3.0?

    Is it best to do a full uninstall and cleanup when uninstalling 1.15.0 and going back to 1.15.0?

    Regards Richard.
     
  6. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11,234
    Likes Received:
    1,148
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,465 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Well, no, not really. One is the program name and the other part is the argument. A space in-between is a must.

    Logs please.

    That's entirely up to you. Keep in mind though that 1.2.3 is really old, has lots of bugs and is no longer supported.

    If you have difficulties with navigation you may want to try a different skin. There are really lots, check them out in the download section. Actually I don't even remember how 1.2.3 looked, hence you may simply post a screenshot (F11 or F12 produces a screenshot and puts it in the picture folder)

    As said above it is not recommended to run 1.2.3. However, if you want to do it, you need to do a full uninstall, including deleting the database.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!