1.10.0 - TV-server records bad when no clients are connected

Discussion in 'Archive' started by peterzxc, February 4, 2015.

  1. peterzxc

    peterzxc Portal User

    Joined:
    March 27, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    MediaPortal Version: 1.10.0



    Description
    After some testing I realized that the recordings became useless whenever the frontend was disconnected. So I've now configured the frontend to minimize when closed, and everything works fine... (almost. I have a problem to view recordings from another computer with only a client, but I've not spent any time debugging that yet)
    /Peter


    Operativsystemets namn Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
    Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 build 7601
    Datortyp X86-based PC
    Processor AMD E-350 Processor, 1600 Mhz, 2 kärnor, 2 logiska processorer
    BIOS-version och -datum American Megatrends Inc. 0401, 2011-02-16
    SMBIOS-version 2.6

    Steps to Reproduce:
    on a computer with both server and client: start a recording, watch it for a while to see that it's ok, stop the client a while, restart the client and watch the recording from where you stopped
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello Peter

    Does the problem occur with all channels, or only some?

    I'm not able to reproduce the problem, so please could you attach log files:
    1. Ensure TV Server log level is set to "debug",
    2. Reproduce the problem (short recording with client disconnected).
    3. Use the watchdog with option 3 to collect logs into a zip file.
    4. Post/attach the zip file in this thread, and specify the time that you started the test recording.
    Thanks :)
     
  4. peterzxc

    peterzxc Portal User

    Joined:
    March 27, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
  5. peterzxc

    peterzxc Portal User

    Joined:
    March 27, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Started recoding around 9.37, stayed on for 30 s, switched off the client for some 30 s, started it again and viewed until I saw the problem occur.
    Watchdog failed to collect any server-logs, so I collected all logs with timestamps around the test manually...
    /Peter
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The TsWriter log is full of continuity errors. This is usually caused either by low signal strength/quality, or timeshift/record HDD load.

    Are you confident that your signal strength and quality is good?
    Do you have any security software (anti-virus, anti-spyware etc.) installed on the PC (... don't forget Windows Defender, Microsoft Security Essentials), and if so, have you excluded the MP and TV Server program, config, timeshift and record directories from scanning?
    Is the HDD containing the timeshift/record directory almost full?
    Have you enabled aggressive power saving modes for the PC?
     
  7. peterzxc

    peterzxc Portal User

    Joined:
    March 27, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I have the TV signal entering via fiber, so the signal is ok. I have no real-time security sw active at all for the time beeing. There is 270 GB abvailabe on a 2T disk. I have switched off all powersavings.
    The thing is that the continuity errors appears almost only when the front-end is switched off. When it is on it only happens a few times per hours, so my initial thought was that the tv-server do something special whenever no clients are connected...
    /Peter
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello again Peter

    Okay.

    I can confirm that it doesn't.

    Another two questions...
    Does the problem happen if you have non-MediaPortal software (for example, internet browser watching youtube etc.) open?
    Can you please try to use the DPC Latency Checker tool to check for potential problems?
     
  9. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  10. peterzxc

    peterzxc Portal User

    Joined:
    March 27, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    No, no other sw seem to have any influence on the recordings. I can view HD movies while recording without problems, and
    the latecny tester gave ok to my system.

    You were correct about the screensaver settings. If that setting can create the problem I suggest it should be removed...

    Many thanks for the support, now I will see why the other PC with only the client installed cannot playout any recordings...
    /Peter
     
  11. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Screensaver is only supposed to 'kick in' after xx minutes inactivity.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!