TV Stutters after 1 hour | Page 2

Discussion in 'General Support' started by broadscott, October 7, 2006.

  1. trojkolka

    trojkolka Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 24, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    i run MP in both modes and in both modes this problem occurs here


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. madgabz

    madgabz Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Got the same problem here! Only after turning off/on the tv output, it resumes to sync'ed viewing!
     
  4. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    hardware specification? logs?
     
  5. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    can you check that you do not have any heat problems?

    would not be the first time, that heat causes stuttering/failing TV-Cards
     
  6. broadscott

    broadscott Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 28, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    While I haven't actually measured the heat of the TV card in any way (how would one go about this?), switching the TV off and immediately back on solves the problem for another hour or so. would the TV card cool down fast enough in these few seconds to operate correctly for another hour or so?
     
  7. Taipan
    • Premium Supporter

    Taipan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Looking at your epg.log suggests that you have the DVB epg grabber enabled - is this correct?

    You can check this in MP Setup under the Television section - make sure that the option "Grab EPG from DVB stream" (or words like that) is unchecked - I have found that this option does not work in Australia and could cause the symptoms you describe.....:(
     
  8. broadscott

    broadscott Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 28, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks - will give it a go tonight.
     
  9. broadscott

    broadscott Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 28, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well disabling grabbing EPG the from DVB Stream didn't seem to have any effect. I am still getting stuttering TV after about an hour.
     
  10. Taipan
    • Premium Supporter

    Taipan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    Can you please do some more tests that might help us to nail this one:-

    If you record a TV program, does it do the same "skipping" after about 1 hour?

    Does the same skipping occur on all channels? Is it on both SD and HD channels?

    Have you tried any other video decoders than the Nvidia ones - if so, which ones have you tried and was there any difference?

    Could you monitor the CPU% and memory usage at the beginning and again at the time of the skipping - is CPU% hitting 100% for some reason?

    Is this a dedicated HTPC, or a "general purpose PC? Are there other applications running that might be the cause?

    When you say "turn off the TV" do you mean within MediaPortal, or are you referring to the physical TV ?

    Is your OS fully up to date with Microsoft patches?

    Have you applied the suggestions in the stickies under "Tips and Tricks"? Particularly this one?
     
  11. broadscott

    broadscott Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 28, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I tried this last night, and while I havent watched the recordning the whole way through it doesnt seem to have started skipping after the 1 hour mark (note: this was a "silent" recording, I was not watching the TV when it was made)

    I only use SD channels.

    I have tried the Leadtek codec with the same results. The MPV codec squashes the video so I don't use it.

    I will try this soon (though I dont think it is).

    Dedicated. I have tested this with only MediaPortal running.

    Within MediPortal.

    OS is fully up to date with all patch from recommended above post applied.

    I am still getting the problems. After a little less than an hour the picture just starts to stutter and becomes unacceptable. I have noticed that there a lot of threads like this one popping up, so it looks like there could be a bug somewhere. If you want more logs etc. I can post them here.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!