TVServer (Win10) cannot write to NAS (QNAP T253A)

Discussion in 'Installation, configuration support' started by VoB, November 3, 2017.

  1. VoB

    VoB Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 3, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hello,

    I am trying to record and timeshift on a QNAP NAS.

    Mediaportal-Server is running on a Win10 professional (Build 1703).
    The NAS is a QNAP T253A.
    Mediaportal Version 1.18

    The Folders on the NAS can be read/write in the windows-explorer without any problem.

    What I have tested so far:
    - running the Service "TV-Service" under a specified user-name with the same name/password know on the PC & NAS
    - declare the path on the nas in the server-configuration as "s:\folder" or "\\nas-name\folder" or "\\nas-ip-adress\folder"
    - switch of the pc-firewall
    - read/write-permission on the nas is set for pc-user and the user for the service "TVService"
    - NAS is "Lokal Master Browser"
    - free disk-space is 6.5TB on the NAS (shown in Windows-Explorer on the pc


    The Error-Message in the TV-Server-Configuration (when testing the timeshift) is always "No free disk space availible" --> so there seems to be a problem with the write permission to the nas ...

    Any Ideas????


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome! :)

    Could you please provide the log files? I'd like to see if there is any more detail in there that could help.
     
  4. VoB

    VoB Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 3, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Thanks for helping!

    I have attached the log-files.

    I have just found two entires:
    - in SetupTV.log "[2017-11-03 07:59:32,458] [Log ] [SetupTv ] [DEBUG] - SetupTV: Disk Quota for \\NAS-QNAP-TS253\TV_Aufnahmen is disabled"
    - in TVService.log "[2017-11-03 07:59:21,891] [Log ] [3 ] [ERROR] - Exception :confused:ystem.IO.DirectoryNotFoundException: Ein Teil des Pfades "F:\" konnte nicht gefunden werden. bei System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)"

    "Ein Teil des Pfades "F:\" konnte nicht gefunden werden." means "Part of path "f:\" was not found" --> in the Windows-Explorer there is path f: (read/write ok).

    ==> "\\NAS-QNAP-TS253\TV_Aufnahmen" is the same as "f:\" on the system
     

    Attached Files:

  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hmmm, the log level is set to "error", so there is not much detail in there.

    The entry that you found seems to be the relevant one:
    - in TVService.log "[2017-11-03 07:59:21,891] [Log ] [3 ] [ERROR] - Exception attachFull194048ystem.IO.DirectoryNotFoundException: Ein Teil des Pfades "F:\" konnte nicht gefunden werden. bei System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)"

    In the first post you said S:\ is the NAS, so what is F:\ ?
     
  6. VoB

    VoB Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 3, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I've just tried to renew the declaration of the mapped drive ... "F:\" in the logfile is the same as "S:\" in the entry post.
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Sorry, I'm not sure what's going on there, but I'd guess it's some kind of permissions issue. As you know, the account that TVService.exe is running under (usually a system account) must have permission to read and write to the share. I also think that it's more likely to get a UNC path configuration (ie. \\....) working.

    If the NAS has a log, perhaps it would help to point to the source of the problem.
    Network snoop/capture tools such as Wireshark may also help.
     
  8. VoB

    VoB Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 3, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Yes, I had the same idea with the NAS-Log:

    there are (were) entries in the log "Login Fail" every time I open the "TV Server Configuration". User is the same as the PC-Name ...

    So, I've added a new user to the NAS (Name=PC-Name); put rights for reading and writing.

    No more failure-entires in the NAS-Log after restarting the Mediaprotal-Server-PC.

    But, the Error "No free disk space availible" remains the same. With mapped path and also with the UNC-Path ...
     
  9. VoB

    VoB Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 3, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I solved the problem on the hard way:
    Installed Win7prof instead of Win10prof, made the changes listed in post #1 - everything fine with UNC-Path to the QNAP.

    --> my conclusion: although the Win10 was also a fresh installation, there must have been something between Win10 and the QNAP.

    Thanks to mm1352000 for trying to help!
     
  10. JimCatMP
    • Team MediaPortal

    JimCatMP Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 1, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +282 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    SMB version support perhaps, SMB 1 being removed from Win10 post WannaCr? I have old NAS I kicked into life and had some problems until re-enabled SMB 1 in Win10 {as it's not exposed externally it's safe option}.

    Cheers - J.
     
  11. VoB

    VoB Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 3, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    The QNAS is configured to accept SMB1, 2, 2.1 and 3. So I don't think this is the problem.

    Thanks for helping!
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!