[confirm] - tvservice dying very often | Page 6

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 1 & 2' started by dingo, March 2, 2010.

  1. porky996t
    • Premium Supporter

    porky996t MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Chartered Surveyor
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancashire, England
    Ratings:
    +82 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Just to confirm that I am still having random crashes with the TV service.

    Sometimes MP will just freeze or others it won't timeshift. As much as I have tried to replicate it, I can't. I just have to reboot and start again. The TV Server still records etc when MP freezes up.



    Next time it happens I'll post the logs up.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. DiePlage
    • Premium Supporter

    DiePlage MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 16, 2007
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    TVService on WLAN

    Since RC1 TVService is crashing frequently. From TVService configuration I can tell that the server is labeled with it's IP rather than hostname (which is how it used to be in prior versions IIRC). I also notice my WLAN-NIC loosing connection / reconnecting every once in a while. To find out whether both events are related, I would like to make the TVService listen on 127.0.0.1 rather than on the WLAN NIC's IP-address.
    I'm running a single-seat environment so this should work.

    Can anyone tell me how to configure on which interface TVService listens?

    Cheers, DiePlage
     
  4. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,905
    Likes Received:
    4,701
    Ratings:
    +6,738 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    AW: Re: tvservice dying very often

    I added the fix mentioned above to svn: 0002776: Code locking in cardtuner can cause hangs - MediaPortal Bugtracker --> This is only the removal of "lock(this)" call in cardtuner.cs.

    --> this time your system hangs in another place, when the graph is about to start. I currently have no other idea than to try other drivers :(
     
  5. DiePlage
    • Premium Supporter

    DiePlage MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 16, 2007
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Re: TVService on WLAN

    I am sure I did change this once before. I had to manually edit some configuration file... I would really like to know whether at least some of my problems are related to WLAN
     
  6. Kaoh

    Kaoh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 11, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
  7. Nickske00
    • Premium Supporter

    Nickske00 Moderator - Dutch Forums

    Joined:
    November 10, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sint-Katelijne-Waver
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    I'm currently having this issue. I'm already on svn 25446

    The tv service just stops randomly, sometimes when I'm watching live tv, or like today, when I'm not home and there was a recording scheduled. I've got logs from today. Tomorrow I'll clean up everything with your log tool and let mediaportal run when I'm at work and I'll upload new logs when I get home.

    EDIT: I found the cause of my problem. I'm using mediaportal with satellite, now there is one channel I found that just crashes the tvservice... I now disabled epg grabbing for this channel (was enabled with dvb epg), and today the tv service didn't die :)
     
  8. crawdaddy

    crawdaddy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 24, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Re: AW: tvservice dying very often

    I think I am getting very similar TV Server crashes when the hard drive where recordings go runs out of space. I am going to post some logs up here ASAP showing when it happens. I'm also trying to get a bigger hard drive, the one newegg sent me was DOA. :(
     
  9. Kaoh

    Kaoh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 11, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I did not suffer from tv service crashes anymore with rc2.
    Maybe your old disk is faulty, try running a disk scan to see if the disk has write problems.
     
  10. bounguine

    bounguine Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    executive director + project manager
    Location:
    St.Petersburg
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    My TVServer crashes almost every time after resuming from standby.
    I hadn't been suffering from it until I upgraded to 1.1.0*.

    On resuming nnCron kills MP, stops TVServer, restarts SS2 driver and then starts TVServer and MP again.
    When started, MP always shows a message “Connection to TVServer lost”.

    In my single seat setup I use MS loopback adaptor with a given static IP 192.168.1.7 (actual PC’s IP is 192.168.1.67).
    Both MP and TVServer are configured to use 192.168.1.7.

    Here’s a time-line from different logs with used IPs:

    In this case I simply restarted my PC to solve the problem.
    Next time I had the same problem, I decided to have an experiment:
    1. I sent MP to tray.
    2. TVService was working in Services window.
    3. I clicked on the TVServer console icon and the console opened without any message, like “TVServer is not started. Do you like to open it?”
    4. I opened MP GUI without restarting MP and saw no channels in it.
     
  11. arion_p
    • Team MediaPortal

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    @bounguine:
    What subnet mask do you have on your physical adapter and MS loopback adapter?
    If it is 255.255.255.0 then your network is misconfigured. You have two adapters on the same logical network that are not physically connected. What essentially happens is packets to 192.168.1.7 may be routed through the physical adapter at 192.168.1.67 and of course never reach the loopback adapter.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!