Unknown error occured on starting live TV

Discussion in 'General Support' started by CathodeRay, August 7, 2015.

  1. CathodeRay

    CathodeRay Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    My normally reliable MP1.2 has stopped playing live TV following soon after changing my TV tuner card. XP SP3 with .dotnet up to v4. Sequence of events as follows:

    1. Install Nova T 500 TV tuner card and drivers and WinTV 7
    2. Remove Pinnacle card and related Pinnacle software
    3. All works fine - MP and WinTV (but not at the same time...)
    4. Shut down PC, restart later in day
    5. WinTV works, MP launches and fails to start live TV with 'Unknown Error Occured'.
    6. Same error happens in Manual Control in TV Server Config
    7. WinTV still working fine.

    I've checked the forums and can see no specific solution that worked. Tuners already set to 'stop' when idle. I've had a look at the logs (attached) and can't make out any relevant entry - but they are even more cryptic than usual to my eyes.

    Any clues as to what I need to do to fix this? I'd hate having to give up MP for WinTV!



    Thanks

    CathodeRay
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. breese
    • Team MediaPortal

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Does Win TV put a process in Services and is it set to Auto Start?
    If it is, stop it and change it to demand
     
  4. CathodeRay

    CathodeRay Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply.

    Hauppage does but I'm not sure what it does (no description for the service in services.msc). I had already put it to manual start in case it was getting in the way, and made sure it was stopped, so I don't think it is the culprit.

    Some other things:

    1. Tried repairing mptvdb (--auto-repair etc) - no dice.
    2. MPs EPG which had been all 'No data available' has started filling up with entries, suggesting something in MP is communicating with the card correctly.
    3. The unknown error message comes after trying to turn on live TV and is titled with the channel eg BBC Two so it seems it is trying to connect but can't.
    4. Recorded TV etc plays OK: this is a live TV issue.

    CathodeRay
     
  5. breese
    • Team MediaPortal

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Not my stong side....
    It appears the DB for the TV side is currupt

    Anyone else have any comments?

    2015-08-07 16:57:19.593750 [Info.][MPMain(1)]: OnMessage exception:Error: DeveloperErrorUnclassified
    Gentle.Common.GentleException: The columns idProgram, idChannel, startTime, endTime, title, description, genre, state, originalAirDate, seriesNum, episodeNum, episodePart, episodeName, starRating, classification, parentalRating in table Program do not exist.
    at Gentle.Common.Check.FailWith(Severity severity, Error error, Exception e, String msg)
    at Gentle.Common.Check.Fail(Exception e, Error error, Object[] args)
    at Gentle.Common.Check.Fail(Error error, Object[] args)
    at Gentle.Framework.GentleAnalyzer.UpdateObjectMap(ObjectMap map)
    at Gentle.Framework.ObjectFactory.ConstructMap(PersistenceBroker broker, Type type)
    at Gentle.Framework.ObjectFactory.GetMap(PersistenceBroker broker, Type type)
    at Gentle.Framework.SqlBuilder..ctor(IGentleProvider provider, StatementType stmtType, Type type, LogicalOperator logicalOperator)
    at Gentle.Framework.SqlBuilder..ctor(StatementType stmtType, Type type)
    at TvDatabase.Channel.UpdateNowAndNext()
    at TvDatabase.Channel.get_CurrentProgram()
    at TvPlugin.TVHome.UpdateCurrentEpgProperties(Channel ch)
    at TvPlugin.TVHome.UpdateTvProperties()
    at TvPlugin.TVHome.UpdateProgressPercentageBar()
    at TvPlugin.TVHome.UpdateGUIonPlaybackStateChange()
    at TvPlugin.TVHome.OnPageLoad()
    at MediaPortal.GUI.Library.GUIWindow.OnMessage(GUIMessage message)
     
  6. CathodeRay

    CathodeRay Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply.

    The logs may be gentle but they are not very human readable, are they!?!

    That log was from before I ran the --auto-repair (which did report and fix some errors). However the same (it looks to me) error is happening after the repair:

    2015-08-07 19:02:53.562500 [(14)]: Exception :Error: DeveloperErrorUnclassified
    Gentle.Common.GentleException: The columns idProgram, idChannel, startTime, endTime, title, description, genre, state, originalAirDate, seriesNum, episodeNum, episodePart, episodeName, starRating, classification, parentalRating in table Program do not exist.
    at Gentle.Common.Check.FailWith(Severity severity, Error error, Exception e, String msg)
    at Gentle.Common.Check.Fail(Exception e, Error error, Object[] args)
    at Gentle.Common.Check.Fail(Error error, Object[] args)
    at Gentle.Framework.GentleAnalyzer.UpdateObjectMap(ObjectMap map)
    at Gentle.Framework.ObjectFactory.ConstructMap(PersistenceBroker broker, Type type)
    at Gentle.Framework.ObjectFactory.GetMap(PersistenceBroker broker, Type type)
    at Gentle.Framework.SqlBuilder..ctor(IGentleProvider provider, StatementType stmtType, Type type, LogicalOperator logicalOperator)
    at Gentle.Framework.SqlBuilder..ctor(StatementType stmtType, Type type)
    at TvDatabase.Channel.UpdateNowAndNext()
    at TvDatabase.Channel.get_CurrentProgram()
    at TvService.TvCardContext.OnZap(IUser user)
    at TvService.TimeShifter.Start(IUser& user, String& fileName)

    CathodeRay
     
  7. mrj

    mrj Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 27, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    42
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1
    Show System Specs
    Hi
    Looks like the DB is broken


    Did you follow these instructions?
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_MEDIAPORTAL_1/16_Support/Troubleshooting/TV/Repairing_database_(MySQL)


    /mrj
     
    Last edited: August 8, 2015
  8. CathodeRay

    CathodeRay Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Errrr... possible basic error on my part...

    When I ran the --auto-repair before, I didn't stop the TVService first, so the mptvdb was presumably open/in use.

    I have now run the --auto-repair after doing net stop TVService and the --auto-repair reports OK for everything and live TV is now working again.

    So this (in case anyone runs into the same problem) seems to be a mptvdb corruption problem, and the fix is --auto-repair. Full instructions on how to do that here:

    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...Troubleshooting/TV/Repairing_database_(MySQL)

    Not sure how/why the mptvdb got corrupted - maybe during the retune after putting the new card in?

    I see new messages(s) have been posted while I write this but will post this and then read the other messages

    CathodeRay[DOUBLEPOST=1438972048][/DOUBLEPOST]Thanks for the earlier reply, which I have now read, and as you will see from my previous post I had managed to find that page of instructions and done the repair. I feel a bit silly because I'm not a complete MySQL novice (just partly one) and should have realised if the tv server was running then the mptvdb was probably in use...

    Very many thanks - hopefully problem fixed now and will stay that way.

    CathodeRay
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. breese
    • Team MediaPortal

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Just glad its all working now...
    Thanks MRJ!
     
  10. CathodeRay

    CathodeRay Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 2, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Yes, a great relief, thanks again to everyone.

    CathodeRay
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. mrj

    mrj Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 27, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    42
    Ratings:
    +96 / 1
    Show System Specs
    :eek:

    :LOL:
    /mrj
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!