Updating languages from movie file (MediaInfo) using the AMC catalog

Discussion in 'My Films' started by xpe, January 1, 2013.

  1. xpe

    xpe Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 19, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hey!

    I am using MyFilms with AMCU. Is it possible to update the language db entry with the languages the audio streams of the movie file actually have?



    The MediaInfo tab in the AMC Updater window shows exactly the languages I would like to see.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Guzzi
    • Premium Supporter

    Guzzi Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,161
    Likes Received:
    704
    Ratings:
    +922 / 0
    Yes, you can do that - in AMC Updater ->Database Fields Tab -> Other field handling options -> uncheck "use internet data for languages field" and update your catalog.
     
  4. xpe

    xpe Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 19, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany

    Oh... thank you! I totally missed that option.


    //Edit: do I have to use the "Update Record" option and select a grabber script (which I wouldn't need)?
     
    Last edited: January 1, 2013
  5. Guzzi
    • Premium Supporter

    Guzzi Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,161
    Likes Received:
    704
    Ratings:
    +922 / 0
    "Update Record" is correct - and indeed, the grabber script doesn't matter, if you select only the language file to be updated and take Mediainfo for it...
     
  6. xpe

    xpe Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 19, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Thanks again. It worked!

    I still have to find a reasonable import/update workflow though. I usually import with the "IMDB Full" grabber, but need to update some fields with data from another grabber, like "Translated Title" or "Certification". For the first time import, I just deleted all values in those fields and updated with "Update Record" and another grabber. But for future additions I don't want to have to update all movies in my collection again and again (which takes hours....).
     
  7. Guzzi
    • Premium Supporter

    Guzzi Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,161
    Likes Received:
    704
    Ratings:
    +922 / 0
    I can't give you a standard answer for the workflow, as it is different for the many use cases and depending on country, grabbers and internet sites availabilitys, habits, etc.
    But regarding "updates", a small hint:
    You can limit the updates - instead of "all" you could set a condition and e.g. update only movies added recently, e.g. by the (ascending) Number, teh Date (if you use Date as "DateAdded") - that limits the Update run on only a few movies.
    AN update for the whole catalog usually is only necessary if you really want to update all (like with the mediainfo update or if you want to update ratings for all etc.)
     
  8. xpe

    xpe Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 19, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    That is a good idea. I will try that for upcoming updates. Thank you.
     
  9. Dadeo
    • Premium Supporter

    Dadeo Docs Group Manager

    Joined:
    November 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    2,802
    Location:
    Himalayas, India
    Ratings:
    +3,053 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    @xpe - as Guzzi said, MF let's you define your workflow in an almost infinite variety of ways. For example, although I often import new movies via AMCU, I do my field updates in GUI because I find it so easy - just select the grabber you want for the Translated Titles and Certification fields, do the lookup, then select only those two fields to update from the dialog. You can see the various methods/options in the wiki: Update Existing Films - the method I am referring to - under Select Update Method - is to choose 'Select Fields for Update' which allows you to select multiple fields to update at once.

    You can accomplish basically the same thing by using the 'Single Movie Update' option on the View Movies tab in AMCU.

    Of course, if you are importing a lot of movies at once, the global update method Guzzi mentioned above (restricting the update to a group of movies) is likely easier.

    As you get more advanced, you may be able to create a grabber that grabs data from different sources, and automates it all for you. IIRC The IMDB.DE-OFDB.xml grabber script already does that somewhat and you could use it as a base to create your own custom version.
     
    Last edited: January 2, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  10. xpe

    xpe Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 19, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Oh, I missed that option, too. I've already used the options in MP to update MyFilms data, but I haven't seen the option to select single fields to be updated.

    One hint (I don't know if this is on purpose):
    The option to update only single properties is only available in the details view of a movie, not when you open the menu in list view. Same goes for creating fanart by movie frames. I only tested this with the Titan Skin.
     
  11. Dadeo
    • Premium Supporter

    Dadeo Docs Group Manager

    Joined:
    November 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    2,802
    Location:
    Himalayas, India
    Ratings:
    +3,053 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    ??? Context Menu > Updates >Get Internet Info > Select Grabber > Match Movie > Select Fields to update <<< works fine here ;)
    Yes true, and IIRC there was a reason Guzzi did it that way. However, as you will see in the Issue Tracker a full fanart manager is planned, similar to TV Series fanart, which will include the options to create fanart. So rather than change that now, can you wait for that? You can star 'Issue 128: Feature to preview fanart and select which fanart is downloaded' in the tracker and it may get implemented sooner ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!