Videos do not start playing on first attempt, always have to press play twice

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Terra, April 27, 2019.

  1. Terra

    Terra Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Hi There,



    So I have a strange problem since a while, when trying to play a video (pressing play), the screen very shortly goes black and then I am back in the menu. Then I need to press play again and the video starts playing without any issues. I think it usually happens when the PC comes back from standby but I also saw it happening on other occasions.

    This is especially annoying when I started watching a video already and want to continue, when this happens MP forgets where I stopped the video before.

    Logs attached.
    This time it happened between 2019-04-27 10:54 and 2019-04-27 10:55
    Can anyone help?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Agree Agree x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ajs
    • Team MediaPortal

    ajs Development Group

    Joined:
    February 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8,578
    Likes Received:
    2,622
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT
    Location:
    Kyiv
    Ratings:
    +4,568 / 29
    Home Country:
    Ukraine Ukraine
    Show System Specs
    Plz attach log with Debug info ...
     
  4. Terra

    Terra Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    It happened 2 times today after I installed 1.22 Final and after waking from standby
    I collected the logs in DEBUG Mode afterwards, please find attached!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,535
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,129 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I suspect it has something to do with this (just after playback starts in the MP log):

    Code (Text):
    1. [2019-04-30 19:22:56,203] [Log    ] [MPMain   ] [INFO ] - Main: Audio Renderer DENON-AVR (Intel(R) Display Audio) removed
    2.  
    As an experiment, turn off (untick) 'Stop playback on removal of an audio renderer' (it's ticked in the image below)

    upload_2019-5-1_7-33-8.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Terra

    Terra Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    I tried this and the effect was that MP crashes now when I press the play button after the PC wakes from sleep.
    First the video starts when pressing play but instantly has heavy stuttering, GUI stops responding and then MP just freezes. I have to kill it with the taskmanager then.
    Therefore I set this setting now back as this behaviour is worse :(

    I attached 2 logs when this happened:
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  7. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,535
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,129 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Try enabling 'Use workaround FCU blackscreen fix' (in Startup/Resume settings, see above).

    @Sebastiii - any thoughts?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    6,187
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,178 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    It seems to be related to audio removal stuff that doesn't work correctly and the workaround seems to break things here (for Intel) :(
    I can't reproduce here :( and it's maybe related to 4K resolution.
    Can you try to set up your pc to 1920x1080 and try? to see if it does the same ?
    Thanks.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Terra

    Terra Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 25, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    I will try it on the weekend!

    Should I test this together with the "Stop playback on removal of an audio renderer" option checked or unchecked?
    And, what does "FCU" stand for? :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,535
    Likes Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,129 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Try it both ways.

    I've wondered that too :) - @Sebastiii might know?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. atlantic
    • Premium Supporter

    atlantic MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 9, 2008
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    62
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rennes
    Ratings:
    +106 / 1
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    This problem seems solved in my htpc since I unchecked "stop playback on removal audio".
    I precise that "Use workaround FCU blackscreen fix" is enable too.
    Thanks (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!