volume control not working in vista ?

Discussion in '1.0 final and SVN Builds' started by gibman, March 20, 2009.

  1. gibman
    • Team MediaPortal

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi !

    Running vista 64 sp1 + mp 1.0.

    Often after using MP for a while the volume up down functionality does not work.
    When trying to turn vol. up or down nothing happens.
    The OSD does give me a nice indication.

    It works again if I restart MP...

    Im out of ideas on this one ?



    realtek audio drivers are the latest.
    using the vista volume control method in mp config.

    /gibman
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    2 things have always bugged me with Vista, keyboard\mouse inputs not being recognised by powerscheduler and the volume in desktop being lowered or muted, then not being able to restore within MP's GUI.

    Thats why i now use 3RVX to control sound, nothing worse than sitting down, firing up MP only to find no\low sound and having to go back to the desktop to unmute\raise volume.

    Really ruins the street cred, know what I mean :D
     
  4. gibman
    • Team MediaPortal

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    thanks 4 the input...

    I hate work arounds ..hehe
    Instead we should find the real cause ...

    /gibman
     
  5. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    I haven't ever had issue with MP / volume & Vista (has worked every time when testing). But of cource every "true" HTPC user uses aplifier to change the volume level to preserve the soud quality :p

    Also what comes to power scheduler, it has been working over a year in Vista and always with no issues with keypress detection.
     
  6. chemelli
    • Team MediaPortal

    chemelli Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Activation Manager - Cloud Services
    Location:
    Trento, Italy
    Ratings:
    +1,127 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    gibman,

    tontsa reported a similar issue long time ago. It tourned out to be old realtek HD audio drivers, see mantis for reference ( sorry in a hurry and cannot find the link ).

    Simone
     
  7. gibman
    • Team MediaPortal

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Im running vista x64 using these realtek drivers:

    realtek high def. audio 04-03-2009 6.0.1.5804, digitally signed by MS.

    any better revision ?

    /gibman
     
  8. tourettes
    • Team MediaPortal

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Yes, use Vista 32 bit to overcome some driver etc. bugs :p 64 is still not a good platform for HTPC use.
     
  9. chemelli
    • Team MediaPortal

    chemelli Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Activation Manager - Cloud Services
    Location:
    Trento, Italy
    Ratings:
    +1,127 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
  10. magnil

    magnil Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
  11. gibman
    • Team MediaPortal

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!