WebMediaPortal From Outside Of Your Home

Discussion in 'General Support' started by stirlinghart, February 17, 2013.

  1. stirlinghart

    stirlinghart Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 2
    Hi Guys
    I was reading up on webmediaportal. It says that I connect via http://localhost:8080/ but my question is, if I try to connect to it from say another town. What url do I type in? Do I still have to vnc my machine or use teamviewer etc and then use the interface url?



    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Fafnir
    • Premium Supporter

    Fafnir MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 19, 2006
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hello Stirlinghart.

    There is a very similar thread in the aMPdroid forum: Click here
    There are several thing you need. The main points are:
    1. Setting up your PC firewall to allow access from internet
    2. Setting up your router to allow access from the internet
    3. Order and set up a DynDNS. Reason: Your internet provider renews your WAN IP address in certain cycles. This means you need a static address for access from the internet. This is achieved by a function inside your router, which reports a change in WAN IP to an external server at a DynDNS service, e. g. DynDNS.org (I don't use them). The DynDNS provider gives you a static web address like www.what-ever-is-your-DNS.xx and forwards any request to that address to your WAN IP, so internet access can work.
    4. Set up WebMP with user and maybe port change for security reasons.
    Sounds more complicated than it is. Try it and you will see...

    Bon voyage, Fafnir
     
  4. stirlinghart

    stirlinghart Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 22, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 2
    Hi Fafnir,

    Thanks very much for your detailed response. Once I set it up with a dynamic IP, what would I then type in to log in from out of home? eg...http://IPADDRESS/localhost:8080/

    Thanks again :)
     
  5. Fafnir
    • Premium Supporter

    Fafnir MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 19, 2006
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi Stirlinghart.
    Sry for late reply. What you need is a Dynamic Domain Nameserver (DynDNS).

    1. Let's say the address is www.home-media-access.cn
    2. In your router you have forwarded the external port 4711 to the port 8080 to the IP address of your mediacenter, e. g. that IP is 192.168.178.66.

    What now happens is: you enter the target address into the browser adress line like www.home-media-access.cn:4711 and you end up on your MPextended webinterface, because your router forwards this address to the IP above, which would be like 192.168.178.66:8080 (which is the same like the localhost:8080.

    Good luck, Fafnir.
     
    Last edited: February 21, 2013
  6. Cam

    Cam Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 28, 2012
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +111 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Can someone create a video to help the needy?

    Thanks
     
  7. mediacowboy

    mediacowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Support Technician
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    @Cam

    It all depends on what type router you have on the instructions. If you could provide more information i am sure someone in the forums can help depending on your router.
     
  8. Cam

    Cam Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 28, 2012
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +111 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America

    I have a SMC model SMCD3G Router, if that helps
    It's through Comcast Business Class.

    I have AmpDroid up and running and it works great!!

    Thanks for help

    Cam
     
  9. mediacowboy

    mediacowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Support Technician
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    @Cam

    I am not sure how you would go about doing this since your router was provided to you by Comcast.
     
  10. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
  11. Cam

    Cam Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 28, 2012
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +111 / 3
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I'll give that a try, thanks
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!